We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Save Saved
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #73 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Strathaven
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked this accommodation via Trailfinders and it may have been due to this that we were given a one bedroom apartment upgrade from the studio apartment we had booked.
The hotel itself is in a good location near to the Exhibition Centre and Museum.
The trams are also at the top of Lonsdale Street which is only a short walk away. The free circle route trams are an excellent way of getting round the main parts of the city. There is also a great tourist bus (hop on/off type) which takes 90 minutes for the complete circle.
It was disappointing that it was an additional cost for wifi at the hotel.
There are a number of nice cafes and small restaurants nearby but they do all seem to close early as they appear to cater mainly for the local businesses and offices within their immediate vicinity ie breakfasts, lunches

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you greatly for your feedback on your stay with us here. I am glad you were able to enjoy the spaciousness afforded with your complimentary upgrade from the more compact studio apartment to the one bedroom as this is rarely possible due to demand. It seems like so many guests before you, the ideal location of Oaks on Lonsdale has struck a chord.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    226
    60
    25
    17
See reviews for
86
170
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here while in Melbourne. It is very central and convenient in many ways. It has an IGA very close, cafes for Breakfast over the road and I chose it because the show we wanted to see was at the Princess Theatre which is literally around the corner. It was lovely and clean and spacious and had a great view of the city from our apartment. The staff were very helpful and booked cabs for us when we inquired about them. The best thing was it was very central and after a day of shopping was lovely to come back to somewhere where it was clean and tidy and we could easily relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I hope you thoroughly enjoyed the show at Pricess Theatre and glad you found us convenient to everything you required during your stay in Melbourne CBD. Equally pleased you found our friendly front desk team helpful throughout your stay to ensure your needs were accommodated in their usual friendly manner. See you again soon when KIng Kong opens at the Regent Theatre, just a short walk away in Collins Street!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A very nice and decent 1 bedroom apartment.
Nice and big kitchen with smeg cookware.
Cleaner came everyday, however when we were in the room, they just gave you the towels and left. When we required to do the room service an hour later (still before noon time), it just didn't happen.
The apartment has a balcony,it will be very convenient for these smokers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We very much appreciate your review of Oaks Lonsdale relating to your recent stay with us. We thank you for the feedback with particular reference to the shortcomings of the housekeeping service during the stay. These comments have been passed onto the persons responsible for following up to allow retraining of the staff concerned to ensure that this miscommunication is not repeated.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here in a one bedroom apartment. The bathroom was big, plenty of space, the kitchen was a good size too. I had a lovey view of the city from my room there's an IGA supermarket next door which is extremely convenient, otherwise about 3 blocks away is a Woolworths and Coles in bigger shopping complexes. China town is also a short walk, with dining options endless in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us in November and fantastic to hear that your found our apartments spacious and well appointed. Equally pleasing to hear your positive comments about our location.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillarys, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The 1 bedroom apartment was very spacious and contained everything we required for our 2 night stay. The hotel is close to The Princess theatre where we went to see Legally Blonde. You can easily walk to the Bourke Street Mall and most of the CDB restaurants and cafes. Chinatown is on the doorstep plus some Greek restaurants close by. It is close to Parliament Station and the Bourke Street trams are 100 metres away. The standard of facilities are modern and adequate and the staff helpful. There is on site parking for $20 per day. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from Lonsdale Street if on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Oaks Lonsdale and you found our location ideal for Chinatown and experiencing Legally Blonde around the corner at Princess Theatre. We are hearing great reviews for this show which will be running till the end of July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooms are generally clean. The location is great, 5 minutes walk to train and tram stop. Easy access to QV mall where you can shop and eat. Also very near Chinatown. Basically, you can walk to anywhere in CBD from this place. My only gripe is the washing machine/dryer... The cycle is slow and you may need to add additional time to dry your clothes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are glad to hear that you found our location to be very convenient for you here in Melbourne CBD and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale on you next visit.

Regards, Maris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The appartment I had (204a from memory) is clearly the result of cutting a larger appartment in half. In my half there was a pretty decent studio kitchen, and a large double bed. That's it - no table, chair or any other furniture (apart from a falling apart ikea - or worse - small wardrobe).

Sleeping can be hard with the kitchen refrigerator 1 metre away at night.

Can't complain about the bed, sleep quality, or location, but I would not go here again.

Room Tip: There may be some larger (i.e. normal) rooms available; look carefully at the room spec on the web i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for your honest critique of our Studio apartments. The 1 bedroom apartments are always a lot more spacious with a living and kitchen area seperate from the bedroom. Additionally, thay are generally only marginally more expensive.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.