We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 1 bedroom apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #77 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice 1 bedroom apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A very nice and decent 1 bedroom apartment.
Nice and big kitchen with smeg cookware.
Cleaner came everyday, however when we were in the room, they just gave you the towels and left. When we required to do the room service an hour later (still before noon time), it just didn't happen.
The apartment has a balcony,it will be very convenient for these smokers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We very much appreciate your review of Oaks Lonsdale relating to your recent stay with us. We thank you for the feedback with particular reference to the shortcomings of the housekeeping service during the stay. These comments have been passed onto the persons responsible for following up to allow retraining of the staff concerned to ensure that this miscommunication is not repeated.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    296
    82
    35
    23
See reviews for
115
231
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here in a one bedroom apartment. The bathroom was big, plenty of space, the kitchen was a good size too. I had a lovey view of the city from my room there's an IGA supermarket next door which is extremely convenient, otherwise about 3 blocks away is a Woolworths and Coles in bigger shopping complexes. China town is also a short walk, with dining options endless in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us in November and fantastic to hear that your found our apartments spacious and well appointed. Equally pleasing to hear your positive comments about our location.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillarys, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The 1 bedroom apartment was very spacious and contained everything we required for our 2 night stay. The hotel is close to The Princess theatre where we went to see Legally Blonde. You can easily walk to the Bourke Street Mall and most of the CDB restaurants and cafes. Chinatown is on the doorstep plus some Greek restaurants close by. It is close to Parliament Station and the Bourke Street trams are 100 metres away. The standard of facilities are modern and adequate and the staff helpful. There is on site parking for $20 per day. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from Lonsdale Street if on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Oaks Lonsdale and you found our location ideal for Chinatown and experiencing Legally Blonde around the corner at Princess Theatre. We are hearing great reviews for this show which will be running till the end of July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are generally clean. The location is great, 5 minutes walk to train and tram stop. Easy access to QV mall where you can shop and eat. Also very near Chinatown. Basically, you can walk to anywhere in CBD from this place. My only gripe is the washing machine/dryer... The cycle is slow and you may need to add additional time to dry your clothes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are glad to hear that you found our location to be very convenient for you here in Melbourne CBD and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale on you next visit.

Regards, Maris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The appartment I had (204a from memory) is clearly the result of cutting a larger appartment in half. In my half there was a pretty decent studio kitchen, and a large double bed. That's it - no table, chair or any other furniture (apart from a falling apart ikea - or worse - small wardrobe).

Sleeping can be hard with the kitchen refrigerator 1 metre away at night.

Can't complain about the bed, sleep quality, or location, but I would not go here again.

Room Tip: There may be some larger (i.e. normal) rooms available; look carefully at the room spec on the web i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for your honest critique of our Studio apartments. The 1 bedroom apartments are always a lot more spacious with a living and kitchen area seperate from the bedroom. Additionally, thay are generally only marginally more expensive.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel has a Very good standard of cleanliness and I really liked the room. The staff were excellent, they were friendly and helpful. I really liked the location as it was close to a train station. Room Service food delivery was great. Will stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Great to hear of your experience with us here at Oaks Lonsdale and we will see you again soon. Our staff are always striving to make our valued guests feel at home.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely four nights on the 24th floor. The room was impeccably clean,it was quiet and the bed was like my bed at home..comfortable.Kitchenette was handy to make some breakfast. It was in a great location to catch the train to all locations in Melbourne and an easy walk to shopping areas and restaurants. We would definitely visit again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Oaks Lonsdale or any of our other properties around Australia and New Zealand.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.8 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#123 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#81 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.1 mi away
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#51 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.