We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Save Saved
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #55 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely four nights on the 24th floor. The room was impeccably clean,it was quiet and the bed was like my bed at home..comfortable.Kitchenette was handy to make some breakfast. It was in a great location to catch the train to all locations in Melbourne and an easy walk to shopping areas and restaurants. We would definitely visit again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Oaks Lonsdale or any of our other properties around Australia and New Zealand.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    198
    52
    21
    15
See reviews for
76
159
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

i took my husband away for the weekend for his birthday
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, staff were fantastic.
we had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 29 th floor, views were fantastic,
apatrment was excellent..only one thing we would have liked bathrobes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Jeanette and Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am delighted to read that we were able to help make your husbands birthday celebration a delight.

Our Sky High apartments are located on the 29th floor (top floor) with a magnificent view of the CBD which I am glad to hear you also enjoyed.

I appreciate your feedback regarding bath robes and although we do not currently provide these in our apartments it is something we will certainly consider in the very near future.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My fiance and I stayed for two nights in a Studio room on the 24th floor.

Good Points:

- Handy location. You can't really go wrong in the Melbourne CBD. We chose to walk everywhere we needed to go - MCG 15 minutes, Bourke St mall 5-10 minutes, Melbourne Central shops 5 minutes, Etihad Stadium 25 minutes. There are also buses and taxis straight outside, and trams/trains only a few minutes walk

- Friendly and efficient check-in/checkout

- Comfortable, soft king bed

- Plenty of hot water in the shower, and good water pressure

- Good sturdy shower screen! Keeps all the water in the shower, not spilling out onto the bathroom floor

- Plenty of storage space in the bathroom for toiletries

- Foxtel

- Room service menu looked delicious! (Although we didn't actually indulge in any)

- No problems with noise

- Nice clean bed linen


Bad Points:

- Only two lifts, so you generally had to wait a while (not long though - never more than five minutes)

- No storage space in the room for luggage other than one small, fold-out luggage rack (and a wardrobe). Would have been handy to have a desk, lounge chair or something

- Found a few hairs on the towels

- Some mould in the bathroom, however only minor

- There was no bin in the room itself - just one tiny bin in the bathroom. Same with mirrors. (It's handy to have a bin and mirror out in the room, so that you've got access to them while the other person is using the bathroom)

- The hotel is a little tardy in removing the $150 charge from my credit card - three business days later and it's still sitting there


Overall this was an enjoyable stay. As you can see from the "bad" points listed (which are all pretty minor), we didn't have any major problems. Not 5-star luxury, but good, clean, comfortable and safe accommodation. We would be happy to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail both your positive and negative feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Oaks Lonsdale. I am pleased to see you found your stay to be predominantly enjoyable and the facilites comfortable.

There are certainly some items to tend to that you have raised and it seems as though you stayed in one of our more compact studios. For a minimal more per night spent, a 1 Bedroom apartment will provide you with over 50% more floor space along with a desk. Please keep this in mind when next booking with us.

I have taken note of the housekeeping issues and I thank you for making us aware for action.

With regards to the credit card preauthorisation, this is an automated process between our merchant bank and your card issuer which can take up to 5 business days and if it has not happened to date then please contact us urgently so that we may assist you further.

I hope we have the pleaseure of welcoming you back to the property in the near furture and thank you for your comments.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed overnight and the staff were extremely friendly and obliging and even flagged down a taxi for me after my booked one failed to arrive, the apartment was large in comparison to many others we have stayed, was fresh and spotless, we will definitely be choosing this as our place to go when next in Melbourne,

Barbara Gapper

Room Tip: High floor facing Lonsdale are great and you get an awesome view, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us.

I am most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our apartments to be fresh and spotless.

It is always a pleasure to here that our staff have done all that is necessary to ensure your stay with us has been most comfortable and enjoyable.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 1 bedroom apt with nice view of the park. Highly recommended for families. There was a well equipped kitchen, dining area and lounge, and even a washing machine. Good location, walking distance to city centre, chinatown and tram stop. Clean and tidy place with new furniture.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Eve,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room to be clean and tidy. We have recently put in new couches and I am happy that it is to your liking.

Our 1 bedroom city view apartments provide fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities as well as a spacious living area.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We rented a one bedroom apartment directly with the hotel who matched the discount price we had been offered.
We checked in and were given key cards to our 19th floor apartment.
On entering the apartment we found a suitcase in the wardrobe then noticed the laptop set up on the table!
After exiting the apartment at top speed, we told our story to the receptionist who checked the computer, mumbled something then gave us a 23 floor, two bedroom apartment.
The apartment was excellent with two bathrooms and two balconies and views over the MCG and city to the mountains. Every thing was spotless and it was serviced daily.
The bed was comfortable, toiletries replaced daily and the towels were soft.
We didn't use the cooking facilities but I noticed that the oven, microwave, dishwasher and fridge were of good quality although there were no microwave cooking dishes and one saucepan and one small fry pan were a bit limiting for cooking. Maybe more would be supplied on request.
There is air conditioning in the living room only. We needed it for heating the sitting area.
I would definitely recommend this hotel though my faith in the security of my room in any hotel that uses key cards has been greatly diminished.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Norma,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am pleased to hear that you found your apartment to be in a spotless condition and that you were able to enjoy the stunning views from the 23rd floor. Additional utensils can be provided at anytime by calling our 24 hour reception team.

I have followed up on your comments regarding the error with your keys to ensure that this is not repeated.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had 4 nights in Melbourne staying at The Oaks. Terrific location on the edge of the CBD. Chinatown close by, trams close by. We walked everywhere - down to Vic Markets, Brunswick St, Lygon St, MCG. Apartments are spacious and clean and have everything you need. Nice views from our balcony too. I would stay definatey stay here again. Staff were friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Wendy,

Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am happy to hear that you find our location to be perfect and that you were able to admire our beautiful city views from the comfort of your private balcony. As you have mentioned, we are within close proximity to many of Melbourne’s finest local attractions, restaurants and public transport.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.