We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #80 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice, once In a one bedroom apartment, and more recently a two bedroom apartment. The thing I have noted on both occasions is the friendly professional service offered by the staff. I visit Melbourne on a monthly basis and often find, even in the 5 star hotels that a friendly greeting and willingness to go the extra mile, is hard to come by. The hotel is well situated for theatres, restaurants and shopping. A bonus is being close to the city circle tram.
The room was very noisy when windy, however some cushions laid at the front door solved the problem. There was also no mirror in the second bedroom which was very inconvenient for our son and partner.
Overall a great stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our front office staff aim to provide the best customer service for our guests and I am happy to hear you were able to experience this on both occasions.

We truly appreciate your feedback and have passed your comments on to our Maintenance Manager regarding the wind noise.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for continuing to stay at Oaks on Lonsdale and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    242
    67
    28
    19
See reviews for
91
183
33
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We purchased a 'wotif' hot deal and so got a really great rate! We stayed on the 27th floor and had a self-contained one bedroom apartment with a small balcony. The hotel is only short walking distance to Chinatown and fifteen minutes walk to Federation Square. Room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Lachlan and Sarah,

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and spacious. We are close to many restaurants, cafes, theatres and China Town and I’m happy to hear that you found our location very convenient.

We look forward to seeing you at Oaks on Lonsdale again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Booked a 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom apartment for a girls weekend.
It is a great location, just on the edge of the CBD. The tram into the centre of the city is 100m from the hotel & with frequent trams , you can be shopping 10 minutes later. Chinatown is a quick walk for a cheap & cheerful meal.
The apartment was clean & well laid out. Nice open dining/lounge area, great views from both balconies. Have to admit that there was no way we were going to use the kitchen on a girls weekend, but it seemed well equipped . We were on the 25th floor, at the back of the building, so nice & quiet at night- although we did have noisy guests below us on one night ( on & off 2:30-3:30 am), but staff at reception were quick to silence them when we called them.
Car parking was cheap & easily acessed.
Can't find a fault with the place. This will be our pick for all future weekends away with the girls.

Room Tip: want a quiet room? it seems higher up & facing out over Bourke & Collins St is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Margaret,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

It is always a delight to hear from a satisfied guest. Our two bedroom executive apartments are located from level 18 to level 28 and offer beautiful views of the MCG and I am glad you were able to enjoy the view.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks on Lonsdale again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I took my overseas visitors from the UK for a 4 day stay in Melbourne (we are from Brisbane), and found the Oaks in an excellent location to walk everywhere. The rooms were spacious and had their own kitchenettes for people who are wanting to cook their own meals. It is in walking distance to theatres, restaurants and transport. We booked through wotif.com and chose a room on a lower level (as one traveller doesnt like heights), but if I go again I would get a room closer to the top, as the road noise (busy Lonsdale rd) can be noisy in the mornings. Staff were very friendly and accomodating.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am pleased to read that you found our hotel to be in an ideal location for your visit to Melbourne.

Our staff are always on hand to ensure that your stay with us is both pleasant and comfortable and I am glad to read that they were most accommodating.

Our apartment floors range from the 6th floor through to the 29th floor so there are plenty of options for you to choose from on your next visit.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Oaks on Lonsdale was a great stay!! I have stayed in many hotels in most cities of australia and this by far hits the top. From the moment of check in right through to check out the staff at the desk including the hotel manager were an absolute delight! From responding to requests within minutes ( with a smile) to happily suggesting their personal hot spots (being locals). I stayed in a 1 bedroom sky high and the view was breathtaking ! We could see the Parliament House, treasury gardens and best of all the MCG and AAMI stadium, all at night the lights were fantastic! Short distance to EVERYTHING which made it perfect for me and my hubby to see Melbourne! Special credit to Oaks on Lonsdale for giving us a wonderful experience that we will never forget :) will definitely be back !!!!!

Room Tip: Skyhigh room 2903 has spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest.

Your feedback serves as an invaluable motivation for our staff to continue to aim for outstanding service.

Our Sky High apartments are very popular and indeed the views from these apartments are spectacular, we are glad to read that you were able to enjoy this.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale again in the very near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed in a 13th floor 1 bedroom apartment for 9 nights over the Easter Break and can report absolute satisfaction.I am a particularly hard to please traveler, however every facet of my stay was up to my high standards. My room was at the back with a view of Parliament House and the Melbourne Cricket Ground and included a full kitchen, laundry, separate bedroom, dining table and lounge area - most comfortable. Televisions in bedroom and living area and all this for approx $160 per night (on special). Again - wow! The apartment was clean and housekeeping staff kept it this way for my full stay. Front of house staff were most courteous, providing early check-in, late check-out and even a midnight bandaid.

My stay was a culinary and comedic adventure and the apartment was close to many venues and great restaurants - (recommend Gingerboy nearby). Bus at front door and free tram 100mtrs away.

I hope to return next year. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear will be quieter, although I cannot imagine that you would get much noise from high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

The team and I are delighted to read that we were able to ensure that your stay with us was beyond satisfactory and that our apartments exceeded your expectations.

Our hotel is ideally located amongst many of Melbourne’s best dining and entertainment venues and we are glad to hear that you were able to make the most of this.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Oaks was a great surprise. We got a great deal so was hoping we were not put into some small apartment with no windows:-)
Instead the apartment was roomy and well catered. Nice and clean and the staff were extremely helpful. Always nice to be greeted at 1:00 am with a smile! Again a great 4 days in a very central location

Room Tip: The back rooms may be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It is always great to hear from a satisfied guest and I delighted that we were able to make your recent experience at our hotel an enjoyable one.

Our reception team is available 24 hours to assist with any queries or requests you may have.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Oaks on Lonsdale again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.