We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Save Saved
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #73 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at the Oaks on Lonsdale last week with my mother and sister in a 2 bedroom apartment - room 1805.

The room is a great size and is well appointed with couches, dining table, dishwasher (which smelled horrible) etc. The views were fantastic - Parliament House, Chinatown and various buildings. There were two bathrooms, however the main one has a bath-shower instead of just a walk-in shower which was quite high, so difficult to get in and out of if you're on the shorter side.

My only issue is that only the living area was air conditioned, and although it kept the main area cool, it didn't really spread to the bedrooms. Luckily the smaller room had an opening window (which, I must say, was an AMAZING change and it was wonderful to have fresh air in a hotel bedroom) but the main room didn't, and the only option for some fresh air/air movement was to open the balcony door. I noticed a lot of rooms above and below ours seemed to also do this, so perhaps an air conditioner could be added to the main room, or even an opening window/fly screen on the door. The only problem with the opening window was that one mornign the people below my room were smoking on teh balcony and it came straight into my room, but that wasn't the hotels fault.

The hotel is in a great location, as mentioned by most of these reviews. If you want a taxi, there's a taxi stand on Exhibition St which is easier than trying to wave one down. There is also a 7/11 next door and a couple of cafes which open during the week.

The hotel staff all seemed pleasant, although we didn't really have much to do with them apart from checking in and out. There is also a room service option (Gourmet2Go) which was pretty cheap ($7.50 for a brownie and ice cream plus $6.50 delivery charge) however one of the delivery boys asked for a tip which is quite rude by Australian standards.

The wifi prices are ridiculous (something crazy like $25 a day) and I feel sorry for any travelers who have to purchase it for whatever reason, but this is Australia where apparently hotels feel it's okay to charge prices like that, yet many cafes and restaurants have free wifi.

All in all, it's a great hotel with only a few negatives.

Room Tip: Request a high room - all 2 bedroom executive suites are on the 18th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be in a great location and that you found the hotel staff to be pleasant.

Your feedback is invaluable to us and the minor negative aspects you have mentioned I can assure have been promptly looked into by our hotel engineer and room service providers.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale again in the near future.

Thanks again for your kind feedback, it is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    226
    60
    25
    17
See reviews for
86
170
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The room (Studio) was fairly small - smaller than an average motel room. Not even a chair - just the bed (good comfortable King size), Small cupboard, bedside tables and lamps, kitchenette, and bathroom. A good airconditioner kept the room very comfortable when it was 30 plus outside.

The shower was big and had plenty of hot water but could have been cleaner - some of the grout was stained and mouldy.

We were woken during the nighby very loud noises that shook the floor - sounded like someone dropping a piano. Other than that it was fairly quiet.

The apartments are at the top end of Lonsdale Street - about 2 minutes from Parliament train station and the free Cirle Line tram stop, and about 5-10 minutes walk to the theatre district, China Town, and the Greek precinct.

For not much more $ it might be preferable to get a 1 br unit and have a bit more comfort

Room Tip: For not much more $ it might be preferable to get a 1 br unit and have a bit more comfort and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

It is pleasing to read that you found the service from our staff to be both very pleasant and helpful.

For a small additional fee all of our one bedroom apartments offer large living and dining areas as well as full kitchen facilities and private balcony.

I am glad to hear that you found our hotel to be in a great location.

We look to seeing you again at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thank you to the very friendly, extremely helpful staff (reception & housekeeping). We stayed on the 29th floor and what more can I saw but WOW! Very clean and well appointed. Just a short stroll to the central CBD, close to tram transport, and very close to the gardens & Parliament House. We have stayed in several Oaks Apartments but Oaks on Lonsdale has proven the best. Thank you for a very comfy stay.

Room Tip: Keep an eye out on Wotif specials. Great value. We had no noise whatsoever on the 29th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

It is extremely pleasing to hear such great feedback regarding the service your received from both our front office and housekeeping team.

I am glad that your apartment on the top floor exceeded your expectations and that you found the location of the hotel well suited to your travel needs.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the property again soon.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide such positive feedback regarding your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The Oaks is far enough out of main CBD and quite. We stayed in the one bedroom, self contained unit on the 29th floor, complete with balcony and great views city, Parliament House and stadium for $200 per night. The rooms are modern, staff are friendly and eager to help, which is hard to find these days, well done. Restaurants, bottle shop, convenience stores and trains are close by. Would have no hesitations in recommending and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I truly appreciate your great feedback and I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the great views from your balcony on the 29th floor.

Our staff are always willing to go out of there way to ensure that your stay with us is both pleasant and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Loved this place, very convenient for china town and at the right side of town to walk to the tennis and cricket. Very friendly staff (Tracy rocks!) and our room was very quiet. Would stay here again. Felt at home here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am truly delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be in a great location for your visit to Melbourne.

It is pleasing to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you thought Tracy deserved a special mention.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved up to other reviews. Efficiently run and appointed for serviced apartments. Excellent service when required. Well located within CBD with walking distance to most central places. Good choice for Australian Open accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am delighted to hear that the service you received lived up to your expectations.

The hotel is well located to many of Melbourne’s main attractions, including Rod Laver Arena and Melbourne Park.

I am glad that your found the location well suited to your travel needs.

Well certainly look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It has been a wonderful trip and the hotel has a lot to do with it! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is clean and the cleaning is done well each day of my stay. There is a kitchenette for light cooking so you don't need to have big meals the whole day. The location is just on the outskirts of the busy areas so a short 5 minute walk takes you to the shopping areas. I would recommend the one bedroom apartment for two persons who want to have visitors or a small family. Spacious yet cosy.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartment is really comfortable for 2 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I truly appreciate your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am glad to hear that the service you experienced at the hotel has made your trip to Melbourne a memorable one.

Many thanks for your kind feedback regarding our housekeeping team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.