We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Lonsdale to your Saves list
Oaks on Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #80 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Mildura, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

Best hotel stay -- ever.

Location is amazing. Walking distance to most locations in north east Melbourne CBD. Parliament train station and a tram stop is right around the corner. The hotel is located right next to an mini IGA supermarket where you can buy all the essentials and more. And there is a nice little cafe right next door with affordable (and delicious) coffee and breakfast to start your day.

I stayed in a two bedroom apartment and it was beautiful and modern. The bathrooms and bedrooms were clean and very well designed. One of the bedrooms has an ensuite with twin basins, shower, and toilet. The room also has its own LCD television and a balcony. I asked for each room to have a large bed each (rather than two single beds in one) and I was provided this, however the second room was just two single beds joined together and there was a bed seam running down the middle which was mildly annoying. Didn't mind it too much and it was understandable that they wouldn't want to be moving king size beds around the hotel.

The desk staff were good. However they could smile a bit more :) The lady who served me initially was superb and went out of her way to see if our room was ready even though we were there two hours before official check in. The lady on the other computer was scowling at something and didn't seem to happy with something. We got to enter our room at this earlier time (just after 12:00pm) and got ready to start our day a few hours earlier!

On the initial reservation I asked for the highest floor possible and boy did I get it. We stayed on the highest livable floor (level 28) and the view was amazing. We could see Port Melbourne from our vantage spot, the MCG/Rod Laver, Parliament House, Crown Casino, and so much of Melbourne!

This was my first trip to Melbourne and staying at this superb hotel made it so much more enjoyable. The place was so nice I even purposely spent one afternoon inside simply to relax and enjoy the sites of Melbourne from my balcony :)

Check out was also good. The gentlement who helped us was very nice and helpful. We also asked if our bags could be kept safely in the lobby so we could browse Melbourne in the morning before leaving for the airport (official checkout is 10am) and they even had a little keycard secured room dedicated for leaving bags and there were so many in there obviously most were taking advantage of this. So don't be too afraid if you arrive early or have to leave late. Just ask to keep your bags and they'll do it! :)

  • Liked — The rooms and the views
  • Disliked — Front desk staff didn't seem very approachable
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    242
    67
    28
    19
See reviews for
91
183
33
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

A great location and great value ! I paid $139 per nite, booked to the hotel's website.
Excellent location, Chinatown is just on the next street, and takes only 10minutes to walk to the shopping district.
Free tourist tram is less than 5min on foot, and plenty of trams around.
The good thing is, IGA Supermarket is right next door, doesn't stock the full range of items, but have all the necessities.
Plenty of cafes around, unfortunately they are only open during business days as they mainly cater for the offices around this hotel.

The hotel itself is super brand new and really clean. Stayed on the 17th floor and the view at night of the Parliament House is just amazing.

Will definetely stay here again on my next Melbourne visit !

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Beach, Tasmania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

This is great value for money - we paid $148 per night for a one bedroom apartment which was spacious and brand new and had a balcony. It is lovely to be able to spread out and have this amount of room in a city centre without paying a fortune. Great location at top end of the city - a few blocks from the main shopping area, round the corner from the tram, convenience store right next door.

We went to the cricket at the MCG so could walk from here. Took the advice of other reviewers and took our own pillows! Would definitely stay here again if the prices remain the same, although their advertised rack rate is more than 3 times what we oaid so maybe these prices are opening offers.

Looks like they are opening some sort of coffee shop/breakfast place on the ground floor but not ready yet but plenty of cafes nearby if you dont want to do your own.

Laundry, bath in bathroom, comfy couches, big tv, great hotel.

  • Liked — Location, price, newness
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NSW
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

My husband and I spend three delightful nights at the Oaks on Lonsdale. We have stayed in a number of Melbourne apartments over the years and we found the Oaks on Lonsdale to be the best. VERY quiet and we were on the 6th floor ( so not terribly high) but we heard no traffic noise at all.We asked about pillows which were not so high and immediately we were given low pillows. For convenience the Parliament underground is only metres away and the circle tram the same. Parks nearby and shops very close. Altogether top parks to the Oaks!

  • Liked — Position and comfort of apartment
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at Oaks on Lonsdale for 5 nights and found the apartment excellent. As the apartment only opened last year the apartment was very clean and very modern. The kitchen was fully equipped with a stainless steel fridge, oven, stove, dishwasher, kettle, toaster and had all the necessary cooking/eating utensils. I loved the timber flooring, sofa, coffee table, lounge, plasma, our balcony and outdoor setting and the bedroom was spacious with a nice comfy bed (and PLENTY of pillows). The bedroom also had a small plasma mounted on the wall and inside the wardrobe was also an ironing board and iron. The bathroom was also spacious and had an inbuilt laundry with a washer/dryer (which we did struggle to operate as instructions were not too clear).

I cannot think of anything that I disliked about my stay here except for the fact there was no shower curtain which meant that I had to be careful I did not turn the tap on too much during my shower else I found that the floor of the bathroom ended up in a puddle. I also had a minor incident with the hairdryer as when I plugged it into the power socket it ended up in smoke immediately and I feared this would set off the fire alarm. We called reception and within 5-10 minutes a replacement hairdryer was brought to our room.

The room cleaning service was also great as we came back each day to a neatly made bed. Reception was also helpful as often we'd seek their assistance in calling a taxi to go to certain locations.

  • Liked — Living area
  • Disliked — No shower curtains
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Lonsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.