We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Customs House

Customs House
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,712 of 4,089 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Robina, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Annual Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We try to get to visit Melbourne at least once a year and never miss a visit to Customs House Hotel at Williamstown. We always make a day of it and catch the ferry across then have lunch. We have never been disappointed. They do offer a 2 course lunch special for $20 which is great value but we usually choose from the regular menu. Prices are reasonable and you get a decent good sized meal. We arrived just before midday on a Monday and the place was very quiet but by the time we left it was packed with a mixture of tourists, workers and locals. Once we went for Sunday lunch and were lucky enough to get the last table so I would definitely recommend booking on the weekend. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was quick and efficient. We will always go back here and definitely recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Tasty pub food with generous serves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Customs House on Nelson Place Williamstown is more than your average pub, serving a range of tasty meals. We previously lived in Williamstown and frequented Customs House many times. In November we visited friends and neighbours and had a large group join us for dinner. We were not disappointed and all of our friends were happy with their meals. I chose the Linguine Marinara with fresh seafood and cooked in a light virgin olive oil. It didn't seem oily and was cooked to perfection.

Despite the size of our group, the service was good. Average price per head (food and wine) was $45 food was around $30 - very good for the location and size of meals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

A good pub atmosphere, with meals that are substantial enough and not as overpriced as a lot of the places along The Strand in Williamstown!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just another pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Good place to catch up with people as it has many different corners where you can hang out with friends. Good selection of drinks. Meals are your average pub meal

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Canterbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not sure where the kitchen was...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

traveled to Williamstown by ferry, nice trip, walked around town on arrival, and decided a lunch meal at the Customs House hotel looked inviting. ordered a beer and soft drink, sorry no Heineken,they advertise it, settled for an American brand, ordered meal 12.15pm (1x Eye fillet steak med. & 1 x pub burger). After waiting half an hour asked what has happened to our meals as 4 other tables came in after us ordered and had received their meals,12.50 pm meal arrived over cooked and and not very warm.
the reason given for delay with the meal, they cook their steak fresh not pre cook it like a lot of restaurants do. (never heard of that before.)
not once asked if we enjoyed our meal or not, even when we paid the bill.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Customs House also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Customs House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Customs House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.