We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price/ Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments of South Yarra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments of South Yarra to your Saves list
Apartments of South Yarra
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   46 Arthur Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great price/ Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at this property for 3 nights in Dec 2012. Check in was relatively easy at Claremont house although the staff there does not seem very friendly.Location for this apartment is great as you can walk to South Yarra station in 5 mins. We had a car and parked at the property with no charge (although the traffic seems to be terrible all the time around South Yarra area). Lots of restaurants around this area.

The apartment was clean enough. There is a sofa in the living room that can turned into a bed. Bed was comfortable and there are 2 TVs in the apartment. Cleaners need to pay more attention on the cleaniness of the bathroom and kitchen. As previous reader mentioned, the kitchen is grubby. The frying pan is supposed to be non stick but it's all scratched so you can hardly see the non stick material. The kettle still have water in it and the inside was all rusty. Air conditioner was a bit old but does the job. We ran out of shampoo and conditioner on our 3rd day and rang the reception and they kindly provide more . They are also happy to replace towels if needed. There is a self service laundry downstairs but a bit costly ($3 for the washing machine and $3 for the dryer).

A few things to note:
- the apartments are very close to the train tracks so be prepared to hear the trains at night time. I bought some ear plugs because of this
- the apartments were quiet for 2/3 nights we stayed there. On the last nite (Thurs), sounds like some teenagers returned to their apartment at 3am in the morning and they were very noisy

Overall considering the price I paid ($135 per night) and the location of this apartments, I think this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasta0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Super convenient location right by the shops of Chapel St and Prahran but quiet inside the unit (apart from the old style rattly air conditioner which didn't work very well).

Check in was around the corner at the guesthouse - friendly, helpful and efficient.
Free wifi was good.
The unit had a small table, 2 lounge chairs, a desk. The bed was comfortable. There is a wall mounted TV in the bedroom which I hit my head on due to it being placed at head height. The bathroom was very clean and had complimentary toiletries.
I'd go back mainly because you the location and price were good, plus parking was included on site - a real bonus.
The kitchen and crockery was grubby (and I had to wash it before they were ok to use). The kitchen wash sponge had been used previously.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porcupinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The outside of these apartments look daggy , like a 70s block of flats. BUT inside is great very clean one bedroom apartment with new bathroom and kitchen, new appliances and 2 flat screen TVs . The last two reviewers must have stayed somewhere else. This pace is fine

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Boracaybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

After reading the reviews on Tripadvsor, I have to say I was really disappointed with Apartments of South Yarra. It's in an excellent location, but everything else about the apartment tells me it was made-over on the cheap, poorly maintained, and noisy (you've got front-row seats to clearly hearing the neighbours talk, shower, and pee!)
Here's my assessment:
Location: Excellent
Loungeroom: Basic furnishing including a most uncomfortable home-made couch. Dim fluoro lighting.
Bedroom: Clean sheets. Some lightbulbs not working. Mattress was hard and lumpy.
Bathroom: Filthy. Brown/black grime in bathroom tiles. Yellowish brown film on shower recess floor. EXTENSIVE BLACK MOLD ON WALLS & CEILINGS. Broken shelving. Clean towels.
Kitchen: Basic & workable, but many utensils, pcs of cutlery, and the bin were coated in oily film and speckled with sometimes large pcs of dried food residue.

OVERALL: I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, even if only for health reasons. I think there are comparable places to stay for similar prices. For us, the excellent location didn't outweigh the grimy interiors that resembled B-grade student accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My family and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment based on its positive reviews and great location. The location is the only thing going for this block of apartments. The bathroom had black mould, the cutlery in the drawers was oily, the bin was filthy, the vinyl couch
was peeling and the bed was lumpy. It was also extremely noisy. My overall impression of the apartment was that it was grubby and poorly maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalgoorliekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in apartment 12 upstairs, nice view of the city and right around the corner from chapel street, literally a 1 minute walk. Got in on a red eye flight and called to see if we were able to check in early and the night manager Eric was very accomodating, as we were staying 5 nights he didn't charge us any extra to check in a few hours early. Looks a little shabby on the outside however the rooms are fully renovated. Nice to be around the corner from an IGA where you can buy drinks and then store in your fridge. Nice waterfall pressure in the shower. Only a $15 taxi ride into the city or 15 minutes via train, easy to find once you have checked in at hotel claremont. Loved the coffee around the corner and easy access to neighbouring suburbs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lims7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stay'd here for 3 nights during a melbourne winter weekend.
I did need to ask for extra heating and they did bring a extra heater later that day.
It was perfect and not too tiny at all it was a real 1br appartment size wise.
A Fry pan and larger sauce pan would of been good for cooking but we did get by.
I would definitely stay here again and recomend this appartment to friends and travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#87 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Chapel Street
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#42 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments of South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments of South Yarra

Address: 46 Arthur Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments of South Yarra 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Apartments of South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing