We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intriguing Italian restaurant hidden in a basement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Solito Posto

Il Solito Posto
113 Collins Street | via George Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
61396544466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,901 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Intriguing Italian restaurant hidden in a basement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Interesting location said to be on Collins Street but actually accessed via George Parade. A variety of traditional Trattoria dishes combined with some not so traditional dishes. Hits the spot in terms of italian flavour combined with a good selection of wines and efficient, not-too-bothersome waiting staff. Prices for both food and wine are on the highish side.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    115
    27
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great old school Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great traditional rustic Italian fare & a pretty decent wine list to match. Staff efficient & unobtrusive. Book ahead as it always seems busy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place but TOO expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

we were charged $200 for a bottle of Pol Roger non vintage. This is 50 bucks more than I have paid for it anywhere. Come on guys, shame to spoil your wonderful place by taking the mickey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Romantic setting, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We selected this restaurant for a special night out in Melbourne without the kids. From the moment we entered the restaurant we felt we were being looked after with staff that were friendly and happy to be working in this cosy environment. They were very attentive in topping up our wine glasses before they were empty and confidently offered suggestions on the available menu. The wild goat risotto was simply superb and not too overpowering. I saved the best for last and ordered the pannacotta for dessert - this was served to perfection. Absolutely divine! We managed to have 1 entree, 2 mains and 2 desserts plus a bottle of wine and another beverage for under $200 so we considered this to be good value for such a beautiful meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for the quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Having read other reviews decided to visit had the zucchini flowers and the pork shoulder pasta and desert which was very good my wife had the risotto and barramundi for main also good
The bill was reasonable for the quality

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Solito Posto also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Solito Posto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Solito Posto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.