We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A laneway gem that is not to be missed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Solito Posto

Il Solito Posto
113 Collins Street | via George Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
61396544466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A laneway gem that is not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Went with my partner, it was the perfect night out. Genuine service, daily specials and delicious wines. Couldn't fault this at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    91
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We went at 6:30 on a Friday night and just beat the wait for a table. Our starters, and main meals were delicious and the restaurant had a great atmosphere. Well worth a visit!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a nice lunch here. The food and staff very very nice. Would go back again for lunch. The last time we were in Melbourne the breakfast was not that good but would give it another chance based on the good lunch experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendliest staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

found il Solito Posto on trip adviser so glad we went there for an evening meal. All three staff that we dealt with in the fine dining section all stopped and chatted so the atmosphere was wonderful warm and friendly, but that did not stop there, the food was also wholesome Italian, I had the rabbit terrine which was very tasty. Partner had the chickpea soup which he said was very very tasty, this was followed by the Barramundi for him and slow roasted lamb for me. The lamb serving was so huge I could only eat half and very reluctantly sent the rest back, such a shame for such a tasty dish. Unfortunately we were too full to have dessert.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautifully presented, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Il Solito Posto is a wonderful restaurant.

My husband took me there last night for our anniversary dinner and it was just perfect.
The food was delicious and very well presented. The staff were very friendly and helped match wines to your dishes. And its a lovely cosy atmosphere for the resturant, esp in the lower area of the fancy dining section, as theres a bar upstairs.

I must admit it was a bit pricey but for the delicious food and wonderful staff its well worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Solito Posto also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Solito Posto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Solito Posto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.