We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Solito Posto

Il Solito Posto
113 Collins Street | via George Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
61396544466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 3,963 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Australian in New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have been here twice in the past month and I don't even live in Melbourne. Once because it was recommended and the second time because we stumbled across it whilst waiting to be called from another restaurant. When I walked in the second time I was greeted by the manger who although couldn't immediately place me, knew I had eaten there before recently. Thats how good the service is. If you want wonderful home cooked Italian, great atmosphere, great food, then this is the place. I recommend you try the meatballs!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    137
    70
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Part of Italy's soul resides on 113 Collins street!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

After a recent visit to this unique and delightful restaurant, I have nothing to offer but praise and reccomendations. My taste buds were in awe over the beautiful combination of Italian flavours. Their menu is a delight and true to authentic Italian cuisine. The portion sizes are very generous and leave you feeling satisfied after a perfect meal. The service was exceptional, I could not fault it at all! They are lovely waitresses who make you feel comfortable as soon as you enter through the door. Overall, Il Solito Posto not only provides a splendid and enriching eating experience, it also provides an environment where the heart of Italy and its love for food has been captured.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria AUST
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Informed and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked at least one week ahead, we were shown to a lovely table in the bowels of the restaurant. Food was fabulous, just had to for the rabbit, the price very reasonable considering the quality and quantity of the meal but the standout was the informed, friendly, courteous and attentive staff. It was great to be able to have a bit of a chat rather than just concentrate on the meal. We hadn't been here for a number of years and it has just got better. We certainly won't leave it as long next time. Great night out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I visited Il Solito Posto on a busy Friday night. We walked in not having a booking and were seated straight away. Although the restaurant was extremely busy, the staff were very attentive and their customer service was excellent. The food was brought out promptly and was delicious. I will definitely visit Il Solito Posto next time I visit Melbourne!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Late meal at Il Solito Posto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived at Il Solito Posto quite late, after having gone on the Little Penguin bus to Philip Island, just before their kitchen was about to shut. The staff got our order in quickly to make sure we didn't go hungry. We ordered a starter to share, a main meal each and a pudding each and each course was delicious. The quirky decor and low lighting created a very relaxing ambiance and the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable when quizzed about various dishes on the menu. An excellent space for a scrumptious Italian meal (and the wine list is not bad either).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Solito Posto also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Solito Posto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Solito Posto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.