We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Solito Posto

Il Solito Posto
113 Collins Street | via George Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
61396544466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 4,092 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
“Little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Wait staff exhibit a friendly atmosphere which accentuates the already relaxed ambience of the location. Food is excellent, had rabbit and pork penne for mains, both delicious. Desert we had semifreddo and chocolate pudding, heaven on a plate.

Recommend to anyone in Melbourne.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    91
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I walk up and down Collins Street many times a day and didnt even know this gem was just there in the basement (albeit by a small laneway entrance) of 113 Collins street

Had a great dinner there last week, welcoming ambience, knowledgable and friendly staff, great food and generally a "why havent we done this before, when can we come back" type of evening.

My host looked after the wine list so no comment except the wine was very good, food was excellent.

Well worth the visit, will be back there again for sure

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Very welcoming restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The service was excellent and the food was very good. I was very surprised of the large portion of my mussel dish as I couldn`t finish it as I ordered a salad plus side of yummy crispy potatoes as well. The atmosphere and decor made the restaurant very authentic and cozy for conversation. We were one of the last tables in the lower level and never felt rushed to leave at the end of the night. There seemed to be a huge wine wall selection as well to make the night even better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I chose this from some online recommendations as we were in Melbourne for the first time.
Impeccable service and recommendations along with an excellent gastronomic experience.
I would definitely recommend if you want excellent food in a cosy atmosphere with great service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So you think you have seen a wine list?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The wine list is like 800 bottles long. So huge it is overwhelming. You know you are in a great place when the 900 buck bottles are available... The food was fantastic and fairly priced, the decor was great and we were squeezed in without a booking on a busy Monday night. Highly recommend, would love to explore more of the menu...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Solito Posto also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Solito Posto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Solito Posto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.