We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and delicious.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Espresso

Pizza Espresso
17 Macedon rd Towelstowe Lower, Melbourne, Victoria 3107, Australia
98522333
Improve this listing
Ranked #387 of 4,075 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $12 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Relaxed and delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are lucky to have this great pizzeria as our local. The italian style pizzas are consistently of high quality and the pasta tastes homemade. A Friday or Saturday night generally needs a booking to secure a table. We have tried take away, but the pizzas tend to suffer from the trip home. It's tucked away on a suburban shopping strip and only seats a smallish number, so that the feeling is intimate. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best pizza in the known universe!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I love this place, it's not my local but for the quality fare that is on offer you'd travel nearly any distance. These guys are the benchmark for when when it comes to pizza, beautiful toppings, quality ingredients and the whole show right on display in the middle of the restaurant.

They get busy so it pays to book and the staff have always been friendly in my experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

As regulars at Pizza Espresso we find ourselves doing the inevitable comparison when travelling and find the benchmark they set is rarely challenged. We have toured Italy several times and had some great pizzas, but nothing that beat the amazing wood fired speck, pear and gorgonzola pizza of 'our local'. The thin crust and light coverings of quality toppings is a winner.
Sweet pizzettas, nutella filled calzones or tiramisu satisfy the sweet tooth.
Minimal corkage charges encourages us to BYO,but there is a worthy wine and beer selection.
The staff are always super friendly and, as others have noted, you need to book at weekends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Pizza - how it should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We love this place! We have been gpoing for the past few years and it never fails to disappoint. The pizzas are lovely and thin with beautiful toppings but don't expect your stock standard. It's all done in the wood fired oven with real wood and the toppings such as gorgonzola, fig and proscuitto is sublime and the potato with taleggio cheese and rocket is a real favourite. The staff are great and always friendly even when the place is absolutley bursting to the seams with people. Dessert pizzas and calzones are a real treat. Small wine and beer list too. Generally need to book on weekends as this a real favourtite with locals but we know people who travel far and wide to eat their pizzas. Also, small selection of pasta dishes too.They do take-away as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Really enjoyed the pizza here. You wouldn't tell from the outside that this is a good restaurant but as soon as you walk in the atmosphere is great. The pizza oven is right in the middle so you can see the guys making the pizzas. Worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Espresso also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Pizza Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.