We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm...chocolate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koko Black

Koko Black
52 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
03 9663 5567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 4,009 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $7 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Description: Lovers of chocolate indulge your cravings, savour our handmade chocolates and meander amongst our range of nibbles at the 'Paris End' of Collins St salon.
Burleigh Waters, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mmmm...chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love chocolate, especially the good stuff. Everytime I travel to Melbourne CBD I make a beeline for Koko Black in the Royal Arcade. Love to sit upstairs overlooking the arcade and sipping on the most divine CHILLI hot chocolate.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    159
    88
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“10/10 for chocolate lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Always love going here as l'm a chocolate lover & l never leave the CBD without getting my chocolate fix at koko black with my little treats to take home.even the platter is lovely to share

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Converted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Not a chocolate fan but the atmosphere, the vibe and ok, yes, the chocolate degustation that I had to say yes to out of politeness to a chocolate addict has changed me for good.
Go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Major yums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lived up to my expectation. We didn't really get service apart from order taking, item serving, billing and some water for a start (which we really appreciated). Staff were too busy, but the waitress did manage to throw me half a smile. The chocolates come in an affordable price and very pretty look. We had the belgium platter in Lygon St. outlet, and a hot chocolate to share.. Think hot chocolate at a cold autumn night! Though, i will admit that i am not too flattered by the taste of it - something is too much but i couldn't tell what it is.

The other items are MAJOR YUMS! The florentines got my hooked so well, I couldn't help searching for similar tastes after coming back in Malaysia.

It got soon very crowded after we seated ourselves in a quiet corner. Very thankfully it wasn't that sort of chaos where people hang around waiting for tables while you indulge.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bloody yummo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Who does not love chocolate? These are expensive but absolutely devine, a really nice gift for someone special. In particular, the orange segments dipped in dark chocolate are sensational, really sensational, do not die without trying one :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko Black also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Koko Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koko Black, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.