We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a chocolate shop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koko Black

Koko Black
52 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
03 9663 5567
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 4,170 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Description: Lovers of chocolate indulge your cravings, savour our handmade chocolates and meander amongst our range of nibbles at the 'Paris End' of Collins St salon.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“More than just a chocolate shop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Koko Black has a range superb cakes, desserts and hand-crafted chocolates available in their salon (cafe). These delicious treats can be washed down with tea, coffee or a hot chocolate.
The hot chocolate is rich and smooth with a consistency of thin custard. The staff are laid back and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    97
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Naturally Rich Chocolates!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I always thought myself of a purveyor of tasty chocolates (artisan chocs included), but boy was I wrong - the chocolates served here were of the very organic & natural kind, kinds which I wasn't really used to. If you're coming here expecting to taste chocolates commonly found in most eateries and supermarkets, you're going to be in for a surprise!

The chocolates here were very much of the darker variety - me and my friends had a taster platter and a raspberry chocolate drink of sorts - these tasted rich, but not in the sugary sense. I almost felt healthy after! heh.

There are 3 seating areas - a 2nd-story area, an al-fresco dining area outside on the first floor, and a normal dining area in the inside of the first floor. Go for the al-fresco option if you're here to people watch, but if you're there to enjoy a cosy evening in close quarters, go for the 2nd floor option! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were catching up with a friend and arrived very early taking up a window seat. The waitress was very polite and kept filling our water whilst we waited.

I ordered a tasting plate that has chocolate mousse (to die for), chocolate ice cream, two chocolates, a brownie (too rich) and 2 Florentines. It was absolutely delicious. I am glad I had tea though otherwise I think it may have been too much chocolate.

For the 3 of us it was $42

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A chocolate lovers delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a great addition to Melbourne's chocolate lovers options. Koko black offers a great selection of hot chocolates, chocolate cocktails, as well as chocolate lunches such as fruit, waffles and cakes. There is also a great selection of chocolates for sales, with special chocolate themed treats offered throughout the year. Perfect stop over while walking Melbourne, or to take a special someone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“CHOCOLATE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ughh, what is NOT to like about Koko Black? Great service, delicious chocolates, huge range, cosy atmosphere. I love coming here, and it never gets old. Their chocolate covered nuts are to die for. I can't go into Melbourne without either taking home a little treat or sitting in for a delicious rich Belgian mousse, teamed with a hot steamy earl grey tea. mmm!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko Black also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Koko Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koko Black, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.