We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value but stick to Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ying Thai 2

Ying Thai 2
110 Lygon Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)
03 9639 1697
Improve this listing
Ranked #371 of 4,075 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Carlton
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value but stick to Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great at Thai food. Mediocre at other styles. Don't order the roti - way too oily. Crispy skin pork in a salad is as good as other reviewers say it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Kilda, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Thia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A little more upmarket than most Thai restaurants. The duck fried rice was quite good. Not particularly cheap for Thai but good quality.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

one of the many thailand restaurant in melb. The price was ok, cheaper than Fomo (another thai restaurant in melb)
my mum ordered a salad, didnt expect deep fried pork skin covers almost the entire salad.
my mum cannot stand meat so i get a free pork skin salad to eat. haha

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sensational Crispy Pork Skin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Try the Crispy Pork Skin ! It was sensational !
The place is good for a group & sharing foods. However the service was so so, the waitress forgot one of our rice and we asked for the rice "1 rice hasn't come yet", few moments later she sent us the rice & charged us for double... we had a little argument that the rice was the one we ordered but then it never come. Nevertheless, the waitress not happy with her mistake & treat us with "bad face".
Others were good.
Try to make reservation first before go there & disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Red Hot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great food, good selection, quick and good service. We had the Red Curry Hot Pot (vegetarian) and it was so good, hot, but that is what we like!! it was plenty and all extremely fresh vegetables. The roti bread and peanut sauce was fabulous. I would go back again, the price was right. The sausage starter wasn't good and a bit pricey though. The place itself is a little smelly and cold.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ying Thai 2 also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ying Thai 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ying Thai 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.