We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class meal in a first class restaurant with prices to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockpool Bar & Grill

Rockpool Bar & Grill
Crown Complex Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
03 8648 1900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $196
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A first class meal in a first class restaurant with prices to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Rockpool Bar and Grill is located in the Crown Entertainment Complex on the side of the Yarra River. The menu is extensive with something to please everyone's palate together with a large - and expensive - wine list. The service is friendly and efficient. On the night of our visit, every table was occupied, some more than once.A place for repeat visits provided your wallet can stand it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    213
    88
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I dined here on the 31st for a birthday. Service, food, everything was amazing!! I would recomend all the deserts on the menu.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sorry .. But this was awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We recently visited Melbourne Rockpool with some international businessmen. The five of us were put on a table for four. It was extremely squashy - one guest sat sideways for the meal. Even though I spoke to the waiter to explain that this was uncomfortable and not suitable he made no attempt to move us. The waiters were rushing around, every dish was brought out by a different waiter. I think we had six different waiters all up. The whole experience was hurried and stressful. No-one on the table was impressed by their steak, mine was burnt. Food in this restaurant is extremely overpriced. A few days later we had a steak in another Southbank restaurant (this one was not a steak establishment) and it was delicious. Rockpool prides itself on being a steak restaurant but be prepared to be disappointed and spend well beyond what the meal was worth!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Seemless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a great space, a great venue, food was a 4 star but not a knockout 5 star. On a week when I ate at Movida and Epocha the venue is a 1st place but the food was a clear 3rd. Not saying it was average by any means but I felt it lacked the wow factor the other restaurants had.

Service great, wine list stunning, great business dinner or lunch venue as it has great acoustics.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location - really excellent food - service a little stiff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The title pretty much says it all. Right on the waterfront area of the Yarra Yarra river in Southbank. The grain fed beef is really fabulous and the side dishes also great. The service was attentive, but not friendly. I would still recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpool Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rockpool Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockpool Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.