We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night Feed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Pepper Indian Restaurant

Red Pepper Indian Restaurant
14 -16 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 3 9654 5714
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,529 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Late night Feed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It is located at the Parliament end of Bourke Street. It is open till late and a good place to have a good Indian feed. There are many Indian restaurants serving similar food. This one mainly looks at serving North Indian cuisine. There other day we went there at 11.30pm for a feed. The service was prompt and courteous. Though they have expanded there space food quality is consistent which is good. Value for money as each dish comes with 2 naan or option of Rice is also available. Considering rent in CBD is high pricing is appropriate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    48
    22
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best tranditional Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Being an Indian and a vegetarian traveller I always find it difficult to fond food that satisfies my appitite. Luckily I found this heaven for my taste buds. I was in Melbourne for three nights and had dinner here on all three nights. The SAAG stood out form me. Also I ordered for Daal Makhaani as a side on all three nights and would recommend it to everyone .

Highly recommended if you are looking for a taste that reminds you of home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“you must go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My friend introduced this restaurant to me to go to.so glad she did because it was so delicious! Each dish was about in the range $10 to $13. All of the curries we had were packed with texture and taste.
there is good balance between the dishes in the menu with about half veg and half non- veg. Also not to mention the service was reasonably attentive. They always greet with very friendly smiles.
I will definitely be back :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão Prêto, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not more than avarage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've been there to taste the special indian cuisine but became disappointed. The cury was quite tasteless and the naas were very greasy. I've felt that I would cook better at home, and that is something you don't want when you have dinner out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My expectations were quite high for this place. The curry servings were rather small and lacked flavour. It's like they are trying to make the meals more western friendly as opposed to an authentic Indian food. It was very eatable and not a bad pace to eat in Melbourne but not amazing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Pepper Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Pepper Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Pepper Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.