We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aria Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Aria Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank) (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #107 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Terrible service, insistant on you paying for your room prior to giving you your key ( they have your cc for sercurity plus also want a drivers licence) and our apartment was not cleaned from the previous occupants. and by that i mean a party had happened in there and that is what greeterd us. Now normally a refund of at least half , or an imediate upgrade. nope not with Plum , just "oh the domestic staff must not have done it". seeing we were already charged and their motto is no refund we had no power to leave with out doing our $560 . the staff where young inexperiencede and completely lacked tourism skills .No fresh towels and only 1 set given for a 2 night stay for a couple and a child. The room was dirty with marks all over the walls , holes in the blankets that smelt , food on the floor in the corners, dirty windows, dark mouldy gritty stuff in the tiles. a disgusting place to stay and i dont recommend at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Owner at Aria Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi there Paige. I am very concerned about your experience that you write about. I am the new owner of Aria Serviced Apartments (formerly Plum Apartments) & my priority is to ensure that our guests receive value for money. I will analyse your email & discuss with the relevant department heads. I appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    70
    38
    15
    14
See reviews for
51
31
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermagui, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The apartment layout was good, the services are less than. Calling reception 7 times before answering, no bath plug. Plus it could have been cleaner ,stained blanket and lounge and grout in bathroom floor was very dirty. noise from traffic was annoying. No drinks available at all. Even a vending machine would be good. For location and price was reasonable. I dont think I would stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Well presented, clean and tidy. Great location if you are wanting to visit the casino. Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and it was a good size!

Rates are reasonable. We mostly stayed here because of the location, tram stop is 100m up the road!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here on a boys weekend. Clean, neat and all you need. If your looking for a room to live in this is not for you, suits people wanting to explore Melbourne and the south bank precinct.

Not badly priced either.

We would happily come back with families, safe balconies and wifi is cheap

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Well located on City Road Southbank. Walking distance to most city attractions, including MCG and Etihad stadium. The City facing apartments are quieter if you are a light sleeper. Full kitchen and laundry facilities but no pool or gym. There are two tram routes within 100 metres of the apartment. Bus transfer to the Airport is from Spencer Street Station approx. 1km away. If using Skybus they will drop off and pick up from Plum Apartments.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the City are quieter, but cost a bit more. Worth the expense if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsunday Island, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed here over the wknd! Great 24 hour check in staff was friendly and helpful. Quick walk to the Crown. Comfortable rooms. Some better signage would be helpful I had trouble finding the place have never been to Melbourne before. Will recommend to friends and family

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed a Plum apartments last weekend. What a great place. Within walking distance to the Crown Casino and South Wharf. The rooms were very clean and well equipped the only thing I would suggest is they include a dust pan and broom in the laundry. The bed king size was the most comfortable bed I have slept in at any accommodation I have ever stayed. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay her again next time in Melbourne

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aria Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Serviced Apartments

Address: 285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of July, 2014 Aria Serviced Apartments is under new ownership (formerly known as Plum Apartments) We offer 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained apartments that are well appointed & affordable in an excellent location with FREE WIFI. All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Aria Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.