We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aria Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Aria Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank) (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #107 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good clean place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here on a boys weekend. Clean, neat and all you need. If your looking for a room to live in this is not for you, suits people wanting to explore Melbourne and the south bank precinct.

Not badly priced either.

We would happily come back with families, safe balconies and wifi is cheap

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    70
    38
    15
    14
See reviews for
51
31
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Well located on City Road Southbank. Walking distance to most city attractions, including MCG and Etihad stadium. The City facing apartments are quieter if you are a light sleeper. Full kitchen and laundry facilities but no pool or gym. There are two tram routes within 100 metres of the apartment. Bus transfer to the Airport is from Spencer Street Station approx. 1km away. If using Skybus they will drop off and pick up from Plum Apartments.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the City are quieter, but cost a bit more. Worth the expense if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsunday Island, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed here over the wknd! Great 24 hour check in staff was friendly and helpful. Quick walk to the Crown. Comfortable rooms. Some better signage would be helpful I had trouble finding the place have never been to Melbourne before. Will recommend to friends and family

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed a Plum apartments last weekend. What a great place. Within walking distance to the Crown Casino and South Wharf. The rooms were very clean and well equipped the only thing I would suggest is they include a dust pan and broom in the laundry. The bed king size was the most comfortable bed I have slept in at any accommodation I have ever stayed. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay her again next time in Melbourne

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed @ Plum last week and was impressed with what I got for the money.
Even at my late check in off 11.30pm, the staff were bright eyed and bushy tailed and were very helpful and informative.
My $160 got me a two bedroom apartment overlooking the city. It was clean and tastefully decorated. In the kitchen it had all the bits and pieces you would expect and new Miele appliances.
There was plenty of extra bedding.
On checkout the staff arranged appropriate transport and were polite.
I will be using Plum again as the value for the location was great.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

These apartments made for a nice stay in the melbourne CBD. Just out of the way to avoid most the noise of the city (mind you we were quite high up) the appartment itself was really large and nicely furnished. Our daughter (1) had plenty of room to run around. Cot provided free of charge. The balcony was enclosed, had a nice view of crown casino. Not being able to access the lift without your room key made it feel secure. Loved the batheroom. Over all was a nice experience, would stay here again :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Small, clean, comfortable, basic, budget style apartments ... certainly good enough for a few nights stay. Close to the Casino and Southbank restaurants. Staff were polite and helpful. One of the elevators weren't working during our stay and we received a box of chocolates to thank us for our patience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aria Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Serviced Apartments

Address: 285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of July, 2014 Aria Serviced Apartments is under new ownership (formerly known as Plum Apartments) We offer 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained apartments that are well appointed & affordable in an excellent location with FREE WIFI. All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Aria Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.