We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable location and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aria Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Aria Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Hawkesdale
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable location and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently booked an executive 2bedroom apartment with city view in the Plum Serviced Apartments for 3 nights. Reception was friendly, 24 hour and efficient. When checking in we were given an apartment on the 37th floor of The Bank apartments next door with amazing views across the city to the MCG and Dandenong ranges. Our apartment was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and in a very convenient location. It was serviced daily which we certainly did not expect due to its very reasonable price. It had good catering facilities which was convenient for us as I was staying with my daughter and her young family. It was a very short walk to tram stop no. 55 (Brunswick, Domain) which took us to the back of the Victoria Market. Another short walk in the other direction took us to tram no.112 which travels to St Kilda in one direction or to the city via Collins Street and on to Brunswick in the other.
South Melbourne restaurants, shops and market is within easy walking distance and the Casino and Southbank library is nearby. Onsite parking, although tight, was available and it was easily accessible from the Westgate Bridge coming from the Geelong direction.

Room Tip: Room no. 37 Bank Apartments had a great view! It was warm and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murcha108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed four nights at Plum apartments on the 11th floor with a lovely view (through dirty windows) of the motorway. Thankfully the windows were double glazed so the room was quiet.

Room’s comfortable but a bit tried and in desperate need of some brightening up, painted grey which makes them feel drab. The Queen bed is just two single beds pushed together. There is a sliding door to the bathroom from the bedroom Why? (Wants to be an ensuite but isn’t) I didn’t see the point would have preferred none so I didn’t have to listen to the noisy extractor fan every time someone used the bathroom, plus it didn’t lock properly.

The second bedroom is not really a separate bedroom it was closed off with sliding doors but was big with two comfy single beds.

Crown Casino is a short walk. Staff will call a taxi at no charge but plenty taxis will pull up outside if they see you in the lobby. Reception staff were helpful about all enquiries. McDonalds is just across the road and is open 24 hours (kids loved this).

No free WiFi which is a big let-down.

There is only stairs to get to the lifts (five or six steps) which is not much but is a real pain with a buggy and you have to drag the bags up the stairs, why no wheel chair access.
The apartment was just ok and overall could have been cleaner (mould in the bathroom and air vents were covered in dust). Most things were available in the kitchen. The deadlock on the door very fiddly.

For the quality of the accommodation I think they over priced and expensive, expected more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a serviced apartment on the Plum website for Plum Carlton. Upon arriving to check in in the evening, we found that the hotel system did not have our booking despite me having a print out of the confirmation email. Luckily, they had a spare executive suite room in their Southbank apartments, so they taxied us there and did not charge extra for the room.
I think many of the other reviews which criticised the Plum didn't realise it was a serviced apartment and not a hotel. For a serviced apartment the place was great, just our double bed was made up of two single one pushed together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very good location, just next to Budget Rent Car and also nearby petrol station. Walking distance to Casino and city centre. The apartment is very clean and look very new too. We enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Look for those portals that offer good rate online, we extended one night and the rate is slightly e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wpyesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at Plum on a girls weekend away at the end of August. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom (level 22 apartment) was perfect size for 5 adults. The room had everything you need such as full kitchen, large couch and dining table. The apartment also came with a beautiful view and balcony. Our room was also in the "bank building" which was right next door. The only downside to this is if like us you park in the car park (in the plum building) you need to carry your luggage through plum and out onto city road and into the Bank building. We made a trip back to the car and found that we couldn't use the lift in the plum building back to our level of the car park (as we were not technically staying in the plum building) so we walked the three levels of the car park back to the car. The room was perfect so I would stay again :)

Room Tip: The car park was a very very tight/skinny squeeze one way car park which was covered in car paint up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reneericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had two nights at Plum apartments. 14th floor overlooking freeway.
Windows are double glazed and room was quiet.
Reception staff could not be more helpful about all enquiries. well done!

Tricky to get to off the main road. turn in before McDonalds and come in the back way if you can find it.
Crown Casino is about 500m away, easy walking. Plenty of taxis at front door within minutes. Staff will call one no charge.
No free WiFi. McDonalds is 50 meters away 24 hours.
Parking $12 / day is reasonable.Car park has 3 down stairs spots for 4 wheel drives. The up / down ramp is tight and one way.For a couple it was quite spacious.
Has all you will need in an apartment. hair dryer, washing machine, dryer, iron & board, full kitchen, coffee making, milk, etc
Rooms are comfortable but a bit knocked about.
Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterperfect2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here four times and will keep returning when I have need to visit the Southbank end if Melbourne. The apartments are roomy, clean and have all the things you need to be a bit more self sufficient than you can be in a hotel. The city side rooms are a little noisy on Friday and Saturday nights but this is only an issue for light sleepers. I'd definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna_NZ_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,841 reviews
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#53 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Serviced Apartments

Address: 285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Melbourne's Southbank precinct, across the road from Crown Casino and within 3 mins walking distance of Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Aria Serviced Apartments feature 1, 2 and 3 bedroom boutique apartments in an excellent location with FREE WIFI. All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aria Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing