We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable location and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aria Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Aria Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank) (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #105 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Hawkesdale
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable location and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently booked an executive 2bedroom apartment with city view in the Plum Serviced Apartments for 3 nights. Reception was friendly, 24 hour and efficient. When checking in we were given an apartment on the 37th floor of The Bank apartments next door with amazing views across the city to the MCG and Dandenong ranges. Our apartment was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and in a very convenient location. It was serviced daily which we certainly did not expect due to its very reasonable price. It had good catering facilities which was convenient for us as I was staying with my daughter and her young family. It was a very short walk to tram stop no. 55 (Brunswick, Domain) which took us to the back of the Victoria Market. Another short walk in the other direction took us to tram no.112 which travels to St Kilda in one direction or to the city via Collins Street and on to Brunswick in the other.
South Melbourne restaurants, shops and market is within easy walking distance and the Casino and Southbank library is nearby. Onsite parking, although tight, was available and it was easily accessible from the Westgate Bridge coming from the Geelong direction.

Room Tip: Room no. 37 Bank Apartments had a great view! It was warm and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    78
    43
    16
    17
See reviews for
62
36
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed four nights at Plum apartments on the 11th floor with a lovely view (through dirty windows) of the motorway. Thankfully the windows were double glazed so the room was quiet.

Room’s comfortable but a bit tried and in desperate need of some brightening up, painted grey which makes them feel drab. The Queen bed is just two single beds pushed together. There is a sliding door to the bathroom from the bedroom Why? (Wants to be an ensuite but isn’t) I didn’t see the point would have preferred none so I didn’t have to listen to the noisy extractor fan every time someone used the bathroom, plus it didn’t lock properly.

The second bedroom is not really a separate bedroom it was closed off with sliding doors but was big with two comfy single beds.

Crown Casino is a short walk. Staff will call a taxi at no charge but plenty taxis will pull up outside if they see you in the lobby. Reception staff were helpful about all enquiries. McDonalds is just across the road and is open 24 hours (kids loved this).

No free WiFi which is a big let-down.

There is only stairs to get to the lifts (five or six steps) which is not much but is a real pain with a buggy and you have to drag the bags up the stairs, why no wheel chair access.
The apartment was just ok and overall could have been cleaner (mould in the bathroom and air vents were covered in dust). Most things were available in the kitchen. The deadlock on the door very fiddly.

For the quality of the accommodation I think they over priced and expensive, expected more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a serviced apartment on the Plum website for Plum Carlton. Upon arriving to check in in the evening, we found that the hotel system did not have our booking despite me having a print out of the confirmation email. Luckily, they had a spare executive suite room in their Southbank apartments, so they taxied us there and did not charge extra for the room.
I think many of the other reviews which criticised the Plum didn't realise it was a serviced apartment and not a hotel. For a serviced apartment the place was great, just our double bed was made up of two single one pushed together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very good location, just next to Budget Rent Car and also nearby petrol station. Walking distance to Casino and city centre. The apartment is very clean and look very new too. We enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Look for those portals that offer good rate online, we extended one night and the rate is slightly e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at Plum on a girls weekend away at the end of August. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom (level 22 apartment) was perfect size for 5 adults. The room had everything you need such as full kitchen, large couch and dining table. The apartment also came with a beautiful view and balcony. Our room was also in the "bank building" which was right next door. The only downside to this is if like us you park in the car park (in the plum building) you need to carry your luggage through plum and out onto city road and into the Bank building. We made a trip back to the car and found that we couldn't use the lift in the plum building back to our level of the car park (as we were not technically staying in the plum building) so we walked the three levels of the car park back to the car. The room was perfect so I would stay again :)

Room Tip: The car park was a very very tight/skinny squeeze one way car park which was covered in car paint up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had two nights at Plum apartments. 14th floor overlooking freeway.
Windows are double glazed and room was quiet.
Reception staff could not be more helpful about all enquiries. well done!

Tricky to get to off the main road. turn in before McDonalds and come in the back way if you can find it.
Crown Casino is about 500m away, easy walking. Plenty of taxis at front door within minutes. Staff will call one no charge.
No free WiFi. McDonalds is 50 meters away 24 hours.
Parking $12 / day is reasonable.Car park has 3 down stairs spots for 4 wheel drives. The up / down ramp is tight and one way.For a couple it was quite spacious.
Has all you will need in an apartment. hair dryer, washing machine, dryer, iron & board, full kitchen, coffee making, milk, etc
Rooms are comfortable but a bit knocked about.
Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here four times and will keep returning when I have need to visit the Southbank end if Melbourne. The apartments are roomy, clean and have all the things you need to be a bit more self sufficient than you can be in a hotel. The city side rooms are a little noisy on Friday and Saturday nights but this is only an issue for light sleepers. I'd definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aria Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Serviced Apartments

Address: 285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Southbank across the road from the Casino and within 150 m of the Melbourne Convention Centre, Aria Serviced apartments feature 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained apartments that are well appointed & affordable in an excellent location with FREE WIFI. All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, T4B and Despegar.com so you can book your Aria Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.