We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank
285 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location and clean apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very good location, just next to Budget Rent Car and also nearby petrol station. Walking distance to Casino and city centre. The apartment is very clean and look very new too. We enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Look for those portals that offer good rate online, we extended one night and the rate is slightly e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
38
24
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at Plum on a girls weekend away at the end of August. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom (level 22 apartment) was perfect size for 5 adults. The room had everything you need such as full kitchen, large couch and dining table. The apartment also came with a beautiful view and balcony. Our room was also in the "bank building" which was right next door. The only downside to this is if like us you park in the car park (in the plum building) you need to carry your luggage through plum and out onto city road and into the Bank building. We made a trip back to the car and found that we couldn't use the lift in the plum building back to our level of the car park (as we were not technically staying in the plum building) so we walked the three levels of the car park back to the car. The room was perfect so I would stay again :)

Room Tip: The car park was a very very tight/skinny squeeze one way car park which was covered in car paint up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had two nights at Plum apartments. 14th floor overlooking freeway.
Windows are double glazed and room was quiet.
Reception staff could not be more helpful about all enquiries. well done!

Tricky to get to off the main road. turn in before McDonalds and come in the back way if you can find it.
Crown Casino is about 500m away, easy walking. Plenty of taxis at front door within minutes. Staff will call one no charge.
No free WiFi. McDonalds is 50 meters away 24 hours.
Parking $12 / day is reasonable.Car park has 3 down stairs spots for 4 wheel drives. The up / down ramp is tight and one way.For a couple it was quite spacious.
Has all you will need in an apartment. hair dryer, washing machine, dryer, iron & board, full kitchen, coffee making, milk, etc
Rooms are comfortable but a bit knocked about.
Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here four times and will keep returning when I have need to visit the Southbank end if Melbourne. The apartments are roomy, clean and have all the things you need to be a bit more self sufficient than you can be in a hotel. The city side rooms are a little noisy on Friday and Saturday nights but this is only an issue for light sleepers. I'd definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked 2 seperate 1 bedroom apartments. 1 for myself and my partner, 1 for our friend travelling from interstate. On arrival our friends room was unavailable due to maintanence issues! why we couldnt be told this before we arrived at PLum i'm not sure, her only options were a refund or be moved to another apartment building across town.

We went up to our room to find we had no toilet paper, no towels and filthy black marks down the walls, stains on the bedside tables from where drinks had been spilt. The TV reception was poor, which was due to interference from the modem for the wireless internet we were told. After unplugging the modem (meaning we couldnt use the wireless internet) tv reception improved for about an hour before dropping out completely. After we complained about this 3 or 4 times it was finally fixed on the last night of our stay after not having television for 2 whole days.

Our queen sized bed was 2 single beds pushed together, which meant everytime me or my partner rolled over we fell down the gap between the two beds.
Very poor service, value for money and definately wont be staying here again.

Was definately not worth the $300 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Two families booked two, 2 bedroom suits next to each other (on the same floor) as our children wanted to be close together. Arrived and told that our apartments were NOT on the same floor, they were actually in two completely different buildings!!!! This is despite the fact that I confirmed with the telephone booking staff twice that we were staying in adjacent rooms. Reception staff were unable to help - also seemed blaze / apothethic about the situation and we did not receive an apology nor an explanation. The car parking is a joke - tiny driveway with a ramp so tight and skinny that they have installed traffic lights as two cars cannot pass at the same time. Do not bother to pay for a park unless you drive a mini and even then you will stuggle. The staff did not ask what kind of car we have or mention that large car parking spaces were available on the ground floor - we found this by accident. Location was pretty good, however with so many other apartments on offer in the area - do not waste your time with PLUM!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a 1 bed city view apartment for 4 nights.
The apartment was fairly spacious and comfortable.
Because of Melbourne's freezing temperatures in winter, I did not make use of the balcony it comes with.
It is a self contained apartment and has everything you need including washer, and dryer.

The only negative things about the apartment were no water jug in the fridge, no can opener, no mugs only small tea cups, and the glass on the bath to prevent water getting on the floor made you get wet when turning the shower on.
The bed was pretty hard and I didn't find a mattress topper in the wardrobe, so I slept on top of the bed with a blanket and doona over me.

Aside from these small things, it was great for what I needed and I would stay again.

Otherwise I

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank

Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne
Address: 285 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank to your Saves list