We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Nice self contained apartment, but getting tired. Parking tight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aria Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Aria Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location. Nice self contained apartment, but getting tired. Parking tight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had two nights at Plum apartments. 14th floor overlooking freeway.
Windows are double glazed and room was quiet.
Reception staff could not be more helpful about all enquiries. well done!

Tricky to get to off the main road. turn in before McDonalds and come in the back way if you can find it.
Crown Casino is about 500m away, easy walking. Plenty of taxis at front door within minutes. Staff will call one no charge.
No free WiFi. McDonalds is 50 meters away 24 hours.
Parking $12 / day is reasonable.Car park has 3 down stairs spots for 4 wheel drives. The up / down ramp is tight and one way.For a couple it was quite spacious.
Has all you will need in an apartment. hair dryer, washing machine, dryer, iron & board, full kitchen, coffee making, milk, etc
Rooms are comfortable but a bit knocked about.
Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    85
    45
    17
    18
See reviews for
64
37
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here four times and will keep returning when I have need to visit the Southbank end if Melbourne. The apartments are roomy, clean and have all the things you need to be a bit more self sufficient than you can be in a hotel. The city side rooms are a little noisy on Friday and Saturday nights but this is only an issue for light sleepers. I'd definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked 2 seperate 1 bedroom apartments. 1 for myself and my partner, 1 for our friend travelling from interstate. On arrival our friends room was unavailable due to maintanence issues! why we couldnt be told this before we arrived at PLum i'm not sure, her only options were a refund or be moved to another apartment building across town.

We went up to our room to find we had no toilet paper, no towels and filthy black marks down the walls, stains on the bedside tables from where drinks had been spilt. The TV reception was poor, which was due to interference from the modem for the wireless internet we were told. After unplugging the modem (meaning we couldnt use the wireless internet) tv reception improved for about an hour before dropping out completely. After we complained about this 3 or 4 times it was finally fixed on the last night of our stay after not having television for 2 whole days.

Our queen sized bed was 2 single beds pushed together, which meant everytime me or my partner rolled over we fell down the gap between the two beds.
Very poor service, value for money and definately wont be staying here again.

Was definately not worth the $300 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Two families booked two, 2 bedroom suits next to each other (on the same floor) as our children wanted to be close together. Arrived and told that our apartments were NOT on the same floor, they were actually in two completely different buildings!!!! This is despite the fact that I confirmed with the telephone booking staff twice that we were staying in adjacent rooms. Reception staff were unable to help - also seemed blaze / apothethic about the situation and we did not receive an apology nor an explanation. The car parking is a joke - tiny driveway with a ramp so tight and skinny that they have installed traffic lights as two cars cannot pass at the same time. Do not bother to pay for a park unless you drive a mini and even then you will stuggle. The staff did not ask what kind of car we have or mention that large car parking spaces were available on the ground floor - we found this by accident. Location was pretty good, however with so many other apartments on offer in the area - do not waste your time with PLUM!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in a 1 bed city view apartment for 4 nights.
The apartment was fairly spacious and comfortable.
Because of Melbourne's freezing temperatures in winter, I did not make use of the balcony it comes with.
It is a self contained apartment and has everything you need including washer, and dryer.

The only negative things about the apartment were no water jug in the fridge, no can opener, no mugs only small tea cups, and the glass on the bath to prevent water getting on the floor made you get wet when turning the shower on.
The bed was pretty hard and I didn't find a mattress topper in the wardrobe, so I slept on top of the bed with a blanket and doona over me.

Aside from these small things, it was great for what I needed and I would stay again.

Otherwise I

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked a 1 bedroom apartment at the Plum apartments. On check in I was told that my apartment was next door in The Bank Apartments, no explanation was given as to why. The apartment did not have a separate bedroom, the bedroom had to be closed off with sliding doors, when these were closed you could not get out of the lounge as the access was now blocked by the table and chairs. These apartments are older than the Plum apartments no double glazing and noisy with traffic noise. They were clean but tired. The web site makes no mention that you could be in the next door building, there is a gym and pool but it could not be used by tempory guests. Sorry but I was not impressed, and with the number of apartments available I doubt if I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom/two bathroom apartment (#63) recently to attend a wedding in Melbourne. The apartment was everything I expected and more, excellent location, close to the city, Crown Casino etc. Extreme good value for money, very clean, reeption staff were very helpful, thoroughly recommend Plum Apartments. Noise was not an issue (previous reviews have stated that it was). Very happy with our choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#77 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Quest Southbank
#95 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Serviced Apartments

Address: 285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Melbourne's Southbank precinct, across the road from Crown Casino and within 3 mins walking distance of Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Aria Serviced Apartments feature 1, 2 and 3 bedroom boutique apartments in an excellent location with FREE WIFI. All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Aria Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.