We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plum Location in Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aria Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Aria Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plum Location in Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

These apartments are located very close to Crown Casino, South Wharf DFO and to the quirky coffee shops of South Melbourne. We attended the Comedy Festival. We caught a taxi ($9) into the city but walked home via Southbank.
The apartments are well appointed and have all that visitors need. They were light, bright and reasonably spacious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    84
    45
    17
    18
See reviews for
64
37
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It's about ten minutes walk from Flinders Street at the south side of Melbourne CBD to the Plum Apartments. An inconspicuous entrance from busy littered City Road takes you to a clean and tidy, if spartan, lobby. Here the friendly staff will offer a bag drop for early arrivals and late departures, or early check-in to a room if one is available.
Fast lifts give access to small lobby areas with a few rooms on each floor. The air conditioned apartment we had was spotlessly clean, well planned and equipped for self caterers and included a full size washer and dryer. The busy city motorway lies close by but triple glazing on the balcony door (few people will use the balcony, overlooked from other apartments and with the city din very evident) ensured that noise was limited.
There is a Coles supermarket and other handy shops and takeaways a few minutes walk down the road towards St Kilda. The excellent South Melbourne Market lies in the same direction.
If you want to pay with a non-Aussie plastic card - either debit or credit - you will be stung for the usual Aussie rip-off of 1.5% on top. Do note that unusually this applies to debit as well as credit cards here.

Room Tip: There's an all-night disco somewhere nearby - so ask for a room that faces away from that - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford Rise, ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here in March for a function at Crown Casino, just a short walk away. Very clean one bedroom apartment with small kitchen and a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom cupboard. Everything you needed, we were on level 34 so no road noise. It is on the SKYWAY bus shuttle drop off, very convienent.

There was a bad smell in the hallway when you got out the lifts, but that didn't drift into the apartment.

I was sorry that we didn't have more time to enjoy the room and veiw, will be staying here next time for sure!

Room Tip: Higher floors have fantastic veiws city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during Australian Tennis Open 2013. I stayed on the higher floors, 1 bedroom apartment with city view & extra space. Very close to Crown casino, 2 minutes walk. The only thing I don't like is the parking was very small & narrow. It only fits one car to drive up & park. Costs $12.00 per day.
There are 2 lifts in the apartment and one was broken over 6 months. Takes ages to wait for the lift.
No Gym or swimming pool. Average apartment.

Room Tip: Get higher floors with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely apartment and excellent value for Melbourne. My only grumble is the noise from the freeway so I needed ear plugs but we were given a two bed place to compensate so I cannot really complain. The bathroom fan could not be turned off which was noisy too. We were told it could be turned off but we tried several times and couldn't. We nearly got caught in a lift one day as it broke down so we had to walk down many flights of stairs to get out which wasn't the best. We stayed in several places over the 15 days we were away some costing a lot more than Plum yet these apartments would be one of my favorites faults and all.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in January for the Australian Open tennis. We have come every year for 5 years and always pick 1 bedroom apartments to stay in based on location and price. This was the best value for money 4+ star place we could find and it turned out to be better than expected. We were put next door in "The Bank Building" and our room was spacious and well equipped with a full kitchen, bathroom, laundry facilities etc. We were able to keep to ourselves and it was pretty quiet other than a tiny bit of road noise. The location was great, tram stop on the corner, Crown casino with tons of restaurants a 2 minute walk, and cafes and a supermarket a 5 minute walk. Close enough to walk to the tennis as well. Would stay here again next time and definitely recommend it to others. Anyone looking for apartment type accomodation near/in the city, check this place out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights for business. First the good. The room we had was a 2 room apartment. It was clean and the layout etc was great. Perfect for a longer stay. Not the nicest of views over the highway, but hey, what can you expect in the location?

All in all I was quite satisfied, it just lacked things that really just made it feel a lot cheaper than what it was. For example the TV quality was pretty bad, internet was cable only and to enter the carpark you just beep your horn and hope reception hears.

If only they put a little more effort into having things set up appropriately for modern expectations, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#77 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Quest Southbank
#95 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Serviced Apartments

Address: 285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Melbourne's Southbank precinct, across the road from Crown Casino and within 3 mins walking distance of Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Aria Serviced Apartments feature 1, 2 and 3 bedroom boutique apartments in an excellent location with FREE WIFI. All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Aria Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.