We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank

Save Saved
You added Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank
285 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely apartment and excellent value for Melbourne. My only grumble is the noise from the freeway so I needed ear plugs but we were given a two bed place to compensate so I cannot really complain. The bathroom fan could not be turned off which was noisy too. We were told it could be turned off but we tried several times and couldn't. We nearly got caught in a lift one day as it broke down so we had to walk down many flights of stairs to get out which wasn't the best. We stayed in several places over the 15 days we were away some costing a lot more than Plum yet these apartments would be one of my favorites faults and all.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    64
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
44
27
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in January for the Australian Open tennis. We have come every year for 5 years and always pick 1 bedroom apartments to stay in based on location and price. This was the best value for money 4+ star place we could find and it turned out to be better than expected. We were put next door in "The Bank Building" and our room was spacious and well equipped with a full kitchen, bathroom, laundry facilities etc. We were able to keep to ourselves and it was pretty quiet other than a tiny bit of road noise. The location was great, tram stop on the corner, Crown casino with tons of restaurants a 2 minute walk, and cafes and a supermarket a 5 minute walk. Close enough to walk to the tennis as well. Would stay here again next time and definitely recommend it to others. Anyone looking for apartment type accomodation near/in the city, check this place out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights for business. First the good. The room we had was a 2 room apartment. It was clean and the layout etc was great. Perfect for a longer stay. Not the nicest of views over the highway, but hey, what can you expect in the location?

All in all I was quite satisfied, it just lacked things that really just made it feel a lot cheaper than what it was. For example the TV quality was pretty bad, internet was cable only and to enter the carpark you just beep your horn and hope reception hears.

If only they put a little more effort into having things set up appropriately for modern expectations, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Tidy with a full kitchen. Tram line to St Kilda or city pretty much at the door. IGA approx. 200m and Coles approx. 700m away. Two blocks to the casino. Booked a 2 bedroom with 2 x queen bed configuration which they were happy to oblige - was 2 x singles pushed together which may not suit couples, but for two singlies who like a big bed, it was fine. Room servicing is minimal and non-existent on weekends, but that's ok as I use my towels multiple times at home anyway, so it's no different. Reception are happy to provide clean towels, etc if required and there is a rubbish room for disposal of extra rubbish. The freeway is not far away from the rear, but double glazed windows meant that the noise did not affect us. We arrived early and they were happy to hold our bags out the back while we went out, until we got back to check in. I would stay here again as the price was right for peak season (Australian Open).

Room Tip: Rooms on south side (rear) back onto the freeway, but it's ok unless you want the balcony doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is not 5* but neither is the price on weekends. It is bland with grey walls, the apartment has everything it needs but not to a high standard, small TV, picture missing from wall, no weekend service. It is conveniently located close to tram and is waking distance from Flinders St and Southbank. Shop across road in gas station has basic foodstuff. Entrance to car park is very difficult need 2 people to navigate, one in car one outside, for safety. Would I stay here again? Probably not, would look closer to Southbank.

Room Tip: At the back is noisy overlooking the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 12th - 16th Jan. location very good. Customer service to us was very good. The one bedroom apartment was clean except for the oven trays which cleaners missed. We had a city view side apartment and enjoyed sitting on balcony as the city noise didnt worry us. I was able to park the car in the secure carpark but check if you have a large vehicle as it would be a tight squeeze. Cleaning services are minimal over weekends so we took our rubbish to the waste room and collected clean towels from reception without any problem. Only one lift has been working since Christmas but not Plums fault as staff have continually phoned service company to repair. If you enjoy walking to see the area this is a good place to stay. We strolled to DFO Docklands, walked to CBD and to art gallery another day taking different routes. We went to dinner at Casino one night food and service was terrible however I recommend if you are in CBD to eat at a tiny restaurant called Golden Orchids in Little Bourke St which is fabulous. Will definitely stay at Plum again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The apartments were conveniently located, though the customer service was appalling.

The traffic lights in the one way car park weren't working and were unsafe.
The lift closed and had my 7 week old baby and mother stuck without a key to be able to get back to our floor or room.

Our bed was two singles pushed together and the floors were dirty.
The servicing consisted of staff changing some towels and taking the rubbish out. On arrival we had to wait after check in time for our room and on leaving we were charged an extra night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank

Address: 285 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.