We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic collection of vine and amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vue de monde

Vue de monde
525 Collins Street | Rialto Building 55th Floor, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
+61 3 9691 3888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 4,008 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $133 - $222
Cuisines: French, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic collection of vine and amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Unfortunately the view was blocked due to the fog in Melbourne. However the service and the cocktails were amazing. We even got a guided tour of the cellar, which was cool.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    102
    69
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeppoon, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Vue De Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We started our evening with cocktails in the bar. We loved the pop up cocktail menu and ordered 2 cocktails and a beer. The bar staff were great as we're the drinks and the view. On going through to the restaurant we felt the tables were to big and we were sitting quite some distance from each other. Although the distance from other tables and dinners is good and creates privacy. The restaurant has a great earthy feel created by leather covered tables and wooden and stone table pieces.
We did not receive any advice on wine which was disappointing as we were looking forward to the experience of having wine matched with our food. One of the waiters arrived and after some discussion we decided to go with 7 courses (5 savory and 2 sweet). Somewhere found the 4th or 5th course we decided to add another. We found the courses to be a little hit and miss. Some were amazing - barramundi, wagu, beef tongue, followed by some good courses - duck yolk dish, eel and the wallaby and then some ok dishes - Martin, corn truffle. We had a mixed opinion on desert I personally highly enjoyed the hay infused dish but my dinner companions loved the chocolate soufflé. At the end of the night the girls were given a take home breakfast package which was a nice touch. All things considered we had a great night however I had been looking forward to this for quite some time and for the price tag I expected amazing all the way through which it was not. There has been much dispute between us on what to rate Vu De Monde. If it was possible to give half stars I would rate 3.5 but as it's not an option I've gone with 4 stars as it is definable above average, however I would not return as I believe we could have had a better experience (wine matching ect) and service elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Have been to VdM twice, both times have walked away very happy. Not cheap $500 a head, but reasonable value considering: 10 courses all brilliant, a matched wine with each course (including Dom Perignon & Chateau d'Yaquem), best staff going around for knowledge, service & interaction, & of course stunning views of Melbourne. Well worth the expense as a (very) occasional treat

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The restaurant had great and fabulous view of Melbourne. Restaurant had modern design. The food presentation was quite lovely and unique, so I did not want to eat. I love chocolate dessert the most. I regret to come back here at night. I would be more wonderful than in the afternoon, I suppose.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Having previously dined at this restaurant, we had high expectations...and we were not disappointed. The food and service were exceptional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue de monde also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Vue de monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vue de monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.