We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vue De Pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vue de Monde

Vue de Monde
525 Collins Street | Rialto Building 55th Floor, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 3 9691 3888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,875 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $109 - $182
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Vue De Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We started our evening with cocktails in the bar. We loved the pop up cocktail menu and ordered 2 cocktails and a beer. The bar staff were great as we're the drinks and the view. On going through to the restaurant we felt the tables were to big and we were sitting quite some distance from each other. Although the distance from other tables and dinners is good and creates privacy. The restaurant has a great earthy feel created by leather covered tables and wooden and stone table pieces.
We did not receive any advice on wine which was disappointing as we were looking forward to the experience of having wine matched with our food. One of the waiters arrived and after some discussion we decided to go with 7 courses (5 savory and 2 sweet). Somewhere found the 4th or 5th course we decided to add another. We found the courses to be a little hit and miss. Some were amazing - barramundi, wagu, beef tongue, followed by some good courses - duck yolk dish, eel and the wallaby and then some ok dishes - Martin, corn truffle. We had a mixed opinion on desert I personally highly enjoyed the hay infused dish but my dinner companions loved the chocolate soufflé. At the end of the night the girls were given a take home breakfast package which was a nice touch. All things considered we had a great night however I had been looking forward to this for quite some time and for the price tag I expected amazing all the way through which it was not. There has been much dispute between us on what to rate Vu De Monde. If it was possible to give half stars I would rate 3.5 but as it's not an option I've gone with 4 stars as it is definable above average, however I would not return as I believe we could have had a better experience (wine matching ect) and service elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    132
    89
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Have been to VdM twice, both times have walked away very happy. Not cheap $500 a head, but reasonable value considering: 10 courses all brilliant, a matched wine with each course (including Dom Perignon & Chateau d'Yaquem), best staff going around for knowledge, service & interaction, & of course stunning views of Melbourne. Well worth the expense as a (very) occasional treat

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant had great and fabulous view of Melbourne. Restaurant had modern design. The food presentation was quite lovely and unique, so I did not want to eat. I love chocolate dessert the most. I regret to come back here at night. I would be more wonderful than in the afternoon, I suppose.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Having previously dined at this restaurant, we had high expectations...and we were not disappointed. The food and service were exceptional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Service average, good food but very pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

First of all the welcome in the main hall is really not up to the standard of such a place. The lady should learn how to smile!
Then the system of the menu is very difficult to understand, especially for europeans, a bit complex and when you are told you can select 4 courses, whether it´s 2 main or two first and 2 sweets, the maitre d'hotel tells you that no, it does not work this way and comes back later after having checkec with the chef and says that it´s ok, they can prepare one main course as a ´entrée, a bit weird. One thing though, their chocolate souffle is fantastic.

But what shock us the most is that many of the waiters/cook have beards, the somelier as well. This is just disgusting and would neve exist in Europe.

All in all, we are disappointed by the low quality of service for such a restaurant which claims to be the best in Australia. Food is fine but nothing to compare with other top restaurants.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue de Monde also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Vue de Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vue de Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.