We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food great but length between courses disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vue de Monde

Vue de Monde
525 Collins Street | Rialto Building 55th Floor, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
+61 3 9691 3888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 4,039 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $130 - $217
Cuisines: French, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“food great but length between courses disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was my birthday treat- we booked for the 8.30 degustation menu and at 1am we were still having the deserts offered....we had seen other groups come and go through their courses ahead of us. We were the last ones in the restaurant still going through the dining process. We waited for a long time between some of the courses with no explanation. By 1.15am we requested the bill we could not face waiting to be asked if we wanted tea/coffee, because this experience was so prolonged we had missed all of the public transport and then had to wait to get a taxi home. We cannot fault the food presentation and the 'dining experience' however it just turned out to be more of an endurance than experience it was so disappointing....we had a view over the city but obscured by a big window support in the centre too....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    104
    71
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“More like a tasting experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

For the cost I can think of many other restaurants to eat at. It was an experience but not one I am willing to pay for again (dinner 200pp). The food was fresh and tasty, but it felt more like a food tasting experience with a theatrical touch (other posters have given a good account of the proceedings) than an unforgettable dining experience. The staff were efficient but to me, they seems more pretentious than friendly. The atmosphere was sophisticated but cold. I can't help but think that a major part of what I paid went to supporting the theatre and sophisticated atmosphere, and I am more for the friendly cosy dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“An experience not to forget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was my second visit (took my wife for our anniversary) and the standard was once again quite amazing. We had 8 courses, and left very full. With so many courses some are better than others, but that is part of the experience, but as always it is great to try such a variety of foods. My wife is not quite as adventurous an eater as me, and was a little worried after the first round of wallaby, emu, eel, etc. but after that the food was more main-stream (lamb, pork belly, barrumundi, etc). She is also gluten free, and the restaurant handled that extremely well. The overall experience of location, view, service, taste and presentation is faultless. My only quibble would be that it would nice to see a menu and a price list before ordering. Basically you discuss how many courses you want, but you don't have any idea about what you will be eating, and what is will cost, until the end. Of course if you go to this type of restaurant you shouldn't be worrying about the price, but is always nice to have an idea in the back of your mind.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Right from the moment we walked through the door we were blown away! Can not fault this place, the view was amazing. Probably the best fine dining restaurant I've been to.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“An Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went on a Saturday night and the only option is for the 5 or 10 course degustation menu. We went for the 5 course as we didn't think we would see the distance with 10 courses. We also opted to choose our own wine as my wife only drinks red wine. On arrival we were met and were confused with some other people attending a large party in another part of the restaurant. Once that was sorted out we were ushered down a long corridor lined with wine. Once in the restaurant we were then shown our table. Unfortunately it was not by the window to take advantage of the fabulous view of Melbourne by night, even though we booked some 3 months in advance. We were then offered water options. I don't think common old garden Melbourne tap water was an option so we ended up with an Italian still ($10 per bottle).
The table we had looked like it would hold about 6 people although it was just the two of us. There is an assortment of rocks and what looks like driftwood but is in fact lumps of grape vine.
These are for holding your cutlery.
As expected the serves are tiny but the flavours are sublime. Even though we had only 5 courses it was enough and the service was impecable. My glass was never empty and we were never wondering when the next couses was coming. It all seemed to flow like a well oiled machine.
It's not cheap, but hey, you don't do it every day and it's an experience that should be had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue de Monde also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Vue de Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vue de Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.