We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly crafted Asian cuisine served perfectly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longrain

Longrain
44 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9671 3151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 4,008 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Adelaide, Sth Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Highly crafted Asian cuisine served perfectly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The space that this restaurant sits in is an amazing open warehouse. It is very warm inviting and very professional in its approach. We were a party of 2 so we couldn't book (tables under 6 persons cannot) but turning up we got lucky and were sat at the bar where we enjoyed our dinner whilst watching the staff weave magic. The menu is very extensive with flavours of Thai and Vietnam but also with blends of various other Sth East Asian cuisines.
The waitress allowed us to have some dishes as 1/2 portions so we could taste more dishes. Brilliant, finally a restaurant that is flexible with the diners requests. The food is sublime, some of the best blending of tastes and textures I have had for a long time. The staff are excellent, professional and very accommodating. The even have a DJ playing groovy tunes while you eat.
The cocktails are innovative and tasty. This is a definite must return restaurant ?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    213
    94
    33
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yes, definitely overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had high expectations of Longrain due to its reviews by other users, but I was very disappointed. The dishes were a little too sweet in my opinion, and the meat was too tough. We were a party of four, and we couldn't continue eating after a few bites of each dish. Very very disappointing. On a positive note though, the staff were extremely friendly, great service and great atmosphere, the cocktails were delicious too!! If only this was a bar then I would've given it 5 stars. But because this is predominately a restaurant, then it did not live up to my expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I expected a lot and was left feeling totally ordinary. The food is ok and with a larger group you can book (otherwise, I certainly would not have been cuing). Wine glasses without stems don't do it for me and would only seem to benefit the restaurant. They add even more to the feeling of eating in a shopping mall. I don't choose to dine out to sit with strangers on park benches!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I like the way Longrain has shared tables so that you meet different people each time you go there. The food and service is great but not cheap.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Asian influence at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food and service was incredible. Was a little worried about the fact that we were sat at a communal bar but this added to the experience. Not sure about the stemless wine glasses but a new trend must be tried.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longrain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.