We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longrain

Longrain
44 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9671 3151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I like the way Longrain has shared tables so that you meet different people each time you go there. The food and service is great but not cheap.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    110
    37
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Asian influence at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food and service was incredible. Was a little worried about the fact that we were sat at a communal bar but this added to the experience. Not sure about the stemless wine glasses but a new trend must be tried.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So good we went back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great fusion Asian food. So great we went back 2 nights during a 3 night stay. Communal table style was fine and fun. But get there early if you can as if fills up quick after opening and there are no bookings for 2 people.

Enjoy, we did.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“vegetarian, gluten free, nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is my favorite restuarant in Melbourne. Being both coeliac and vegetarian can be a challenge eating out but Longrain does it with ease. Staff are fully informed and able to seamlessly handle my dietary challenges whilst the meal is always absolutely superb. And try the chilli vodka!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Very good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Took my husband here as a great.
Great service, and we liked the shared tables. Gave us a good indication of what the food would be like.
We enjoyed the meals. Good portion sizes and lovely to share. The twice cooked chicken was lovely. The only thing I could say was that we wish there had been more goo in the sauce! The radish and mint salad was out of this world good.
The fish was very tasty as well.
Enjoyed it all very much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longrain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.