We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were fantastic with our kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longrain

Longrain
44 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9671 3151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Were fantastic with our kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We love Longrain, whether it's just my husband and myself, a group of friends or an early dinner with our kids the foods and cocktails are always divine. We ate here on Good Friday with our 2 kids and another family of 5 totalling 4 adults and 5 kids in all. Because it was early and still quiet we were seated at one of the round tables which was perfect. Once again we were assisted by the very talented Costa who goes out of his way to make sure our kids are happy with their 'mocktails' etc, nothing seems to be too much trouble for him whenever we have dined here with our children.
We never once felt rushed and after dinner us adults wanted one more cocktail and they happily moved our group to seats at the bar for another drink.

Tip: if you're dining with kids although its not on the menu when asked they do a fabulous kids fried rice ( nice enough to want to steal from the kids)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    110
    37
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I went here for my birthday dinner while travelling in Melbourne with friends. They had been going on about Longrain for ages as this amazing place we had to go! It did not disappoint. This place is amazing. The food is absolutely delicious. The wine selection was great and the service was wonderful. I would highly recommend Longrain!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We've been to the Sydney Longrain quite a few times so were familiar with the format. The food and cocktails are delicious and the service is fantastic. The wine list is good. We arrived at 5.30 as they don't take bookings. The restaurant is noisy due to the acoustics and the music. We are always interested in whether a restaurant is suitable for children as we still love to eat at nice places with kids. There were quite a few people with kids which was good to see and this shoudn't really bother anyone else too much as the restaurant is so noisy anyway. I did see one child with her hands over her ears so it might be too much for the kids. The service is so prompt that you could be in and out by 6.30 and it would be handy for pre-theatre foods/drinks.
Will be back as the food is so good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We got a good dish with nice flavours, well executed but not big enough to share (Djungle curry). We're served by a pleasant and very attentive waiter! However we we're a bit surprised when we got the bill that was more than twice as much as we normally pay and still we had shared the main dish.. So good, but overpriced!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good atmosphere, food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here for dinner recently. Great atmosphere, food and service. I recommend you give it a try. Not too noisy and prices reasonable for a better quality restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longrain also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Longrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longrain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.