We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great Pho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong

Mekong
241 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9663 3288
Improve this listing
Ranked #684 of 3,914 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value and great Pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Popped into this restaurant for a bowl of pho at lunch time. The cue at the door should have told me that this was going to be a treat, and it was. Piping hot bowl of beef broth with a generous amount of tender beef slices on top... having lived in Vietnam for several years I thought the flavours were authentic. This is not the place for service or atmosphere. It's a typical Asian food destination, but if you love pho as much as I do this is certainly a place to visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    63
    22
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Casual Vietnamese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The shop is not small but they packed the tables quite close, so you get that busy Asian food shop feel. We went there for Pho and was not disappointed. Very good soup, good noodles and tons of meat. Not disappointed at all.

What disappointed us was the shrimp spring roll which I think was made since morning so the veggie inside was not so fresh. Its a big roll with nothing in side and no taste to speak off.

The broken rice with chargrilled pork chop was also good. The pork is very tender and tasty. We didn't like the broken rice. The rice is poor quality. Being Asian, broken rice is poor people's rice. The left overs rice, so it was not desirable.

Otherwise, the pho is great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanagawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The atmosphere is very asian, kinda relaxing place. of course the food is very nice and lovely.
The waiters often forget the order.... if you need perfect service, you might feel uncomfortable at this point.
Anyway it's good place to have a light meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not as good as mentioned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Pho is so famous hence I have tried once but it is not as good as mentioned. Such a normal Pho. The only famous thing is that the former president in US has visited before

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Reliably delicious Pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

If you are looking for ambience and a place to chat with a friend over a relaxed meal with attentive service, then this is not what you are looking for - however if you just love Pho and are happy to be squeezed in with others enjoying great cheap Pho, this is a great place to eat. I go back for the char-grilled chicken Pho every time I am in Melbourne - I love it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Mekong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.