We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek & consistent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coda

Coda
141 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
613 96503155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 4,003 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $42 - $42
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sleek & consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Coda always delivers a lovely dining experience, either as a couple or a crowd. The ambience and the food never disappoints.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    94
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Never disappointement...this place is perfect.We walked in to Coda off the street without booking...the staff here are fantastic.Great ambiance.We will return

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trying for six days to book, impossible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Gee, how hard is it to book at this place? I've rung (wrong hours, sir!), I've emailed (sorry, we don't take bookings via email, sir), I've rung again (we'll call, maybe, sir), I've walked to the restaurant in person to book (sorry, we don't make bookings at the restaurant, you need to ring this number during office hours, well, sort-of office hours, they might open at 9am or they might open at 11 am, but they're probably shut now, maybe someone might eventually call you back, sir).

Of course, now I've got lucky and managed to ring someone who can take my booking, but hey, sorry sir! We don't have any tables for you, you should have contacted us days ago. But we've been shut so there would have been no point.

No point indeed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday dinner here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

From the moment I booked to the moment we left, Coda was exceptional in every way. The service was spot on (a few of us had special needs), wine suggestions were perfect and food was sublime. My daughter was thrilled to have celebratrd her birthday there. Competitively priced considering the high standards. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Customer? What Customer?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a terrible display I witnessed of what cannot remotely be called customer service. Coda staff aggressively asking a table of ladies to "just pay and leave" after what was easily overheard to be a simple bill query. I had watched the group laughing and enjoying each other's company throughout the night, not unruly at all. The male staff member was particularly rude. Left a very bad taste in my mouth and I hope the owners sort that guy out, not a good look for any establishment. Definitely won't be back, I'd rather go hungry than witness that again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Coda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.