We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak tartare beyond compare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coda

Coda
141 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
613 96503155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 3,836 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $42
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Steak tartare beyond compare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If there is one reason I go back to Coda, it's for the steak tartare - it is absolutely mouth watering. Even if you don't think you like the idea of steak tartare, please do yourself a favour and go to Coda and try it - you have to go to France to find it this good, and even then you'd be searching.

The staff are very polite and the service is excellent. The atmosphere is great - the food is good but nothing beats that steak tartare!

We also had the blackened quail last night which was very good. But that steak tartare.......

We'll be back and I highly recommend that if you haven't been to Coda - make sure you do!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    124
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great service and fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great service and fabulous food. We were guided by the sommelier to a perfect Australian wine. We ordered some tapas to share, mozzarella, pea and arugula salad, and the duck. All was perfectly prepared. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Delicious French/Vietnamese tapa's and share plates. We hadn't booked a table but were seated at the bar where you get a view of the chef's putting the food together and the bar staff were very helpful in matching our wine with our tapa's selections. The calamari salad and pork belly dishes were stand outs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Visited this restaurant by chance as we were staying nearby. It's great. Staff friendly and helpful.
Wine list not huge but has both international and local wines . The food is delicious. We ordered the special seared tuna with sorbet..amazing and the salmon..yum.. The kitchen is an open behind the bar. The seating is either at tables or sitting around high tables or eating at the bar..it all works well. We will be returning. Well done ..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Food in Melbourne CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely basement restaurant. Fabulous menu, great wine list
Really good not fault it.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Coda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.