We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak tartare beyond compare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coda

Coda
141 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 3,887 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $42 - $42
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Steak tartare beyond compare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If there is one reason I go back to Coda, it's for the steak tartare - it is absolutely mouth watering. Even if you don't think you like the idea of steak tartare, please do yourself a favour and go to Coda and try it - you have to go to France to find it this good, and even then you'd be searching.

The staff are very polite and the service is excellent. The atmosphere is great - the food is good but nothing beats that steak tartare!

We also had the blackened quail last night which was very good. But that steak tartare.......

We'll be back and I highly recommend that if you haven't been to Coda - make sure you do!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    136
    72
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service and fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great service and fabulous food. We were guided by the sommelier to a perfect Australian wine. We ordered some tapas to share, mozzarella, pea and arugula salad, and the duck. All was perfectly prepared. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Delicious French/Vietnamese tapa's and share plates. We hadn't booked a table but were seated at the bar where you get a view of the chef's putting the food together and the bar staff were very helpful in matching our wine with our tapa's selections. The calamari salad and pork belly dishes were stand outs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Visited this restaurant by chance as we were staying nearby. It's great. Staff friendly and helpful.
Wine list not huge but has both international and local wines . The food is delicious. We ordered the special seared tuna with sorbet..amazing and the salmon..yum.. The kitchen is an open behind the bar. The seating is either at tables or sitting around high tables or eating at the bar..it all works well. We will be returning. Well done ..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food in Melbourne CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely basement restaurant. Fabulous menu, great wine list
Really good not fault it.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Coda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.