We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coda

Coda
141 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
613 96503155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,849 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $42
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have had some average Melbourne restaurant experiences and had left Coda for our last night, it certainly was worth the wait. Extremely tasty food, little bit pricey but service and atmosphere made it a memorable experience. We had the prawn rolls and lamb cutlets for entree, jasmine rice, buk choy and duck curry for main and the icecream sandwich (to die for!) for dessert. The duck is a standout dish. Can't speak highly enough of the staff, extremely helpful and attentive. Glasses were never left empty :) Found this gem from the Good Food Guide as it was rated quite highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    128
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Sunday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First time at Coda. No booking, just sat at the bar or should I say the bar height tables in the Bar area. There were four of us. Great atmosphere, great food and excellent wine list. I think you are best go there in a group of four. It does not strike me as the place for a quiet romantic meal. You need to be celebrating or just out for a good fun night. The food is best ordered to share. I don't think there is was dish on the menu that did not read well. Every thing we ordered was tasty, spicy and different. Staff were very helpful and obliging.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Big let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First imnpressions were good, snazzy bar , mood lighting pleasant reception and wait staff . Menu also read well qaas did wine list . But it was downhill most of the way thereafter . In ways I can blame myself for the wine I chose-- it was a rose from Provence , but far too sweet for my taste. Perhaps that is more acceptable in an Asian restaurant , but no thanks . For starters we had 1] spanner crab on a betel leaf - acceptable but quite forgetable 2] quail lettuce delight - translated as a variant of sang choy bow - it totally lacked flavour and tasted quite unseasoned
3]crispy rice paper roll - a nothing 4] soft rice paper roll-- well for much less in any Vietnamese restaurant in Victoria St you would get several of these and just as tasty , so , a rip off . My wife had the octopus salad for mains and said it was delicious . I had a half serve of the thai yellow curry duck . Yes, it was a generous serve as too was the rice but the actual curry tasted much more Indian than Thai , and in my opinion was not at all suitable as a sort of curry to feature duck .
So all in all a major disappointment somewhat spoiling my wife's birthday treat . I reckon that another restaurant serving Vietnamese food just up the road kills this one stone dead . Mind you many suburban restaurants also are much better, and much better value .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyroyal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Greatt experience - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Brilliant place, been a few times now and can't wait to go back. If as a couple sit at the bar, watch the staff work in the kitchen and enjoy the banter with the bar staff. Food in small but many and varied packages. Joyful experience, absolutely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A long wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having tried to eat here a number of times, the expectation was high. It delivered. We booked { a treat in itself in Melbourne } and were a little early. Settled in a quiet corner with a drink immediately, we had only a short wait. We chose all small plates and shared them amongst four. Waiter excellent with recommendations and advice. Probably ordered a bit much but it was all delicious. The wine list needs care, a few bargains but pretty pricey. Good French fizz to start on recommendation.
Would return in a minute.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Coda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.