We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coda

Coda
141 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 3,967 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $42 - $42
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Balwyn
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Sunday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First time at Coda. No booking, just sat at the bar or should I say the bar height tables in the Bar area. There were four of us. Great atmosphere, great food and excellent wine list. I think you are best go there in a group of four. It does not strike me as the place for a quiet romantic meal. You need to be celebrating or just out for a good fun night. The food is best ordered to share. I don't think there is was dish on the menu that did not read well. Every thing we ordered was tasty, spicy and different. Staff were very helpful and obliging.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    153
    79
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Big let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First imnpressions were good, snazzy bar , mood lighting pleasant reception and wait staff . Menu also read well qaas did wine list . But it was downhill most of the way thereafter . In ways I can blame myself for the wine I chose-- it was a rose from Provence , but far too sweet for my taste. Perhaps that is more acceptable in an Asian restaurant , but no thanks . For starters we had 1] spanner crab on a betel leaf - acceptable but quite forgetable 2] quail lettuce delight - translated as a variant of sang choy bow - it totally lacked flavour and tasted quite unseasoned
3]crispy rice paper roll - a nothing 4] soft rice paper roll-- well for much less in any Vietnamese restaurant in Victoria St you would get several of these and just as tasty , so , a rip off . My wife had the octopus salad for mains and said it was delicious . I had a half serve of the thai yellow curry duck . Yes, it was a generous serve as too was the rice but the actual curry tasted much more Indian than Thai , and in my opinion was not at all suitable as a sort of curry to feature duck .
So all in all a major disappointment somewhat spoiling my wife's birthday treat . I reckon that another restaurant serving Vietnamese food just up the road kills this one stone dead . Mind you many suburban restaurants also are much better, and much better value .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A long wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having tried to eat here a number of times, the expectation was high. It delivered. We booked { a treat in itself in Melbourne } and were a little early. Settled in a quiet corner with a drink immediately, we had only a short wait. We chose all small plates and shared them amongst four. Waiter excellent with recommendations and advice. Probably ordered a bit much but it was all delicious. The wine list needs care, a few bargains but pretty pricey. Good French fizz to start on recommendation.
Would return in a minute.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A bit the same”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Had some lunch here early in 2013 tried a few entries to share it was very quiet being a public holiday, all the food had a citrus flavour which is nice for japanese dishes but found it all a bit boring and same same. Maybe I just lucked out. Paul

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I waited 45 minutes for a main course of a peppery Diablo Chicken. Good flavours - especially the salsa! The bok choi side arrived only 10 minutes later. However, the chicken was on the dry side and, at $15 per serve the wine by the glass was a bit disappointing - the Chianti was average and the 2011 Shiraz not really ready for drinking yet. There was lots of foodie talk but the overall result was not totally satisfying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coda also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Coda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.