We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique dishes, with a great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoya

Shoya
25 Market Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9650 0848
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique dishes, with a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I visited Shoya a few weeks ago for a birthday dinner and thought it had a great Japanese atmosphere. The service was good and it was despite the number of customers, the noise levels were low.
The food was amazing. We chose the Omakase tasting menu (degustation) and experienced a wide range of dishes that I never would have thought - from Sea Urchin to slow cooked Ox Tongue. I definitely recommended it as it provides a good variety and the perfect amount of food.
Would definitely go back and planning to try the lunch menu.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Expensive but awesome food. Make sure to try their Truffle Chawan Mushi. We go there every few months. Service is excellent and deserts are tasty!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I think I am turning Japanese....but its so expensive to do so!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Tucked into Market Lane just next door to the Flower Drum, the Shoya restuarant is a little Japanese oasis, until you relaise it have 4 or 5 floors and so so little afterall. I lived in Japan for 14 years and get very fussy when it comes to Japanese flavours - I am happy to say that Shoya has authentic flavours and beautiful presentation. I only wish it wasn't so expensive....
All of the sashimi and sushi is great - we also had the Nasudengaku..very nice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A slice of fine Tokyo in a back street of Melbourne.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

To eat Japanese is for me to be alive.
I have eaten fine Japanese in every country , including Japan and this stands with the very best of them. It was my joy to be taken for my birthday to a tatami room by a wonderful friend. I don't have words to describe the quality, attention to detail and purity of ingredients that I had the pleasure to savour. Their chefs hat is well deserved.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Classy !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I celebrated his birthday over dinner at Shoya. We went for degustation manual and it was absolutely well worth it. We thoroughly enjoyed the selective dishes with exotic ingredients and overall fantastic presentation. The service was top notch. Highly recommended if you are after classy ambience and quality food. Definitely will be back for another set of degustation meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoya also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Shoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.