We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoya

Shoya
25 Market Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9650 0848
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 3,967 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $75 - $75
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shoya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

i had strange expectations from shoya - 6 levels of japanese eating?? i chose the sushi bar because there is nothing better than watching your food being sliced right before your eyes!! my husband loved it but i was left feeling a little disappointed. Either everyone ordered exactly the same thing or those guys were on repeat. I love sashimi but to be honest i found other items we tried to be way better. The king of eggs was sublime and right up there with movida's hand cut anchoa.. could of eaten several. also try the filo wrapped scallops - delicious. I thought the $25 tempura crab leg would have been crunchy - but the shell was very soft and hard to open. I never order desert but couldn't pass on the sake shochu and dai dai sorbet with beluga caviar... stunning - highly recommended! The service also was not as polished as you would expect. my drink glasses piled up at the bar... and once we had ordered - the attention seemed to waft away. The guy in charge looked harassed and didn't seem to allow the staff to take on more of a role. My husband gave it 5/5 Me 3.5.. Not top notch at all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    42
    32
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, creative food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We decided to go here for our wedding anniversary as we wanted a Japanese treat. The fitout is understated yet comforting. The service was extremely good too.
One thing we loved was taking part in was a Sake Flight, which was a selection of 5-6 small-batch rare and antique sakes. All very different, some were exquisite, and perfectly suited the food. It has however been taken off the menu, which is sad, because it was a great opportunity to become a little more educated about fine sake.
We had the $120 degustation, and all the dishes were very beautiful. We especially loved the sashimi, which came in carved ice globes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value lunch set”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

To be honest, don't think I will shell out $150 for their degustation menu. But their lunch set and barbecue are great.
My favourite is the Matsu set with Wagyu steak, the tempura in it is also very delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Didn't meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location but everything else was just OK.

We ate at the sushi bar. Food was OK but not with that mouth-exploding freshness you need from sushi. We also found it expensive for what we had.

Service was OK but there was lots of pressure to up-sell to more expensive dishes and drinks. Once it was obvious we had no interest, service petered out a little.

Decor is dated.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Seriously, 1 chefs hat?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have been looking forward to going to Shoya, had been many years ago but were excited to return. Evening started out OK, nice seating, friendly staff & good wine list. We ended up deciding on the degustation menu ($150 per head) and sat back to enjoy our evening. Started with Salmon carpaccio which was nothing special, then the steamed chicken mince which was a tiny mouthful of nothing. The next course was abalone and was very chewy and not pleasant to eat at all!
We couldn't believe we were so unimpressed with our meal so far, but kept going hoping for improvement. Next up was the hatching ocean egg - big name for a tiny half filled egg shell with custard, flavour was fine though. Sake poached oyster was to follow and if you don't like Sake you will not like this - we didn't. Sashimi was good, but served in the ice bowl made it too cold? I wont go into every course but will say we asked them to stop the degustation as we did not want to eat anything else that we were not going to enjoy.
All in all a special night out was ruined by this pretentious style of food - we love Japanese and eat it at least once a week. Please try Nobu, Koko, Ocha, Kenzan or Akita instead. We ended up across the road at the Hutong Dumpling bar to finally get something to eat!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoya also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Shoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.