We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   97 - 103 Elizabeth Street | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Not very good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We thank you for the stay and the great customer service however some constructive criticism would be that it was not as clean as expected and smelled bad
However the location was very helpful and useful when getting to places
The customer serviced received at arrival was pretty good, the only thing that was extremely disappointing was the quality of the rooms as in the pictured thy look bigger and how clean they were.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    289
    270
    78
    49
See reviews for
213
189
130
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I needed one night's accomodation in Melbourne. Ibis is clean, staff very professional and friendly but it is what it states: a budget hotel. You get: a bed, clock radio, TV, towel, soap and thats it, no more. Having said that, thats all I needed so I was happy. However, if you are very overweight, and I'm not being rude here, don't even think of staying here as you will not be able to fit in the toilet. Breakfast at $9.00 is very reasonable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my 3 friends was stayed in a bunk bed room.
Nice room with little bathroom but enough for a traveler.
The reception was very helpful, full of smile eventhough we bother them sooo many times.
They open the kitchen 24hours , so we can sit and take the hot water at any time.
It easy to find some cafe's , mini market and convenience store nearby.
As it located in CBD you can walk to some tourist spot and enjoy the free shutlle.
Unfortunately they didnt clear up our room but changed the towel everyday. Maybe it was
because we left the room scattered and full of our things.
And we got a room with a short curtain so the people from other building can see us through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Extremely happy with our stay at this hotel. Staff were helpful and room was more than adequate, bed very comfortable and even a bath. Food from restaurant (take away and buffet breakfast) were delicious and very good value for money. Great location and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

1) The staff on duty at 6pm on 29 August 2013 did not help us during our check-in. We arranged for a Skybus pickup at 7.30am the morning we were to leave Melbourne on 1 September 2013. However, she forgot to book the Skybus. We had to walk several blocks and streets to Southern Cross station, wasting 30 minutes of our precious time.

2) My fiancee lost her expensive white thermal jacket although we locked the door when we went out. It could have been hotel staff who did the laundry and took our jacket.

3) Hotel does not provide complimentary Wifi. I had to bum around at McDonalds like a street beggar to get Wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth Street | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO PARKING Facilities At This Ibis Budget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.