We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
97 - 103 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good cheap accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here with my son, overnight when we went to Melbourne for the Liverpool FC - Victory game at the MCG.

Walking distance to the city circle tram, fed square, flinders street station and the MCG.

Room was basic witha double and an overhead bunk and was quite large and spacious, shower and toilet were clean.

Security provided on the door for our return late in the evning which was good.

Only down side the lift is very slow

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    239
    207
    61
    38
See reviews for
158
156
112
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great value for money. Good location, convenient to get around in the city area. Friendly and helpful reception. We placed 3 different bookings for 3 consecutive days. 2 of the days were triple sharing (1 double and 1 overhead bunk bed) and last day was a family room for 4 persons (1 double and 2 bunk beds). The receptionist was so nice to upgrade us for the first 2 nights to family room at no additional cost!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in July for the Liverpool FC game at the MCG.
The hotel is very basic but I found it to be clean & it had just about all I needed for my no frills visit to Melbourne for the football. The bed was comfortable, the shower facilities worked well & there was ample hot water. Other than the beds (queen size bed & a bunk bed above), TV, toilet & shower & an old clock radio there was nothing in the room.
If I had been traveling with my wife then I would not have stayed here, I would have chosen somewhere a little nicer but it did all it had to do.
The staff were all very pleasant & helpful. The lady at reception when I checked in was especially helpful & welcoming.
I think the rooms could just do with a small fridge to keep drinks cold & a kettle, the hotel don't have to supply tea & coffee etc but the facilities in the room to make a drink would certainly make the rooms better.
The breakfast in the hotel hardly seems worth the money when you see what is available just ashort distance away for the same money.
I would stay again in a similar circumstances but not if I was travelling with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Very central hotel, but the rooms are really cramped and the ensuite is only separated by a curtain. Some natural light would've been nice but he window was covered. If you want the cheapest option this is it. It was fine, but next time I'll probably spend a little more and go to a nicer place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was not expecting this to be a five star experience but I was pleasantly surprised by the room and the facilities, we stayed in the city for the Liverpool game at the MCG and as such it was a busy time in Melbourne. To get a room for four people for less than 100 dollars all up was a treat. The room was basic but clean and provided a double bed and a set of bunks. There was a shower and a separate toilet so privacy was not really an issue. The biggest bonus was the availability of the breakfast room, which was basically a fully equipped kitchen which was available 24 hours a day... Free tea and coffee and somewhere to sit was a hit with our group of four. The checkin was smooth and very friendly, there was security on the front door for late night arrivals and the location could not be better, walking distance to everything you could ever want from supermarkets to late night food outlets and transport at the front door. If you are on a budget and need the convenience then this is definitley the place for you...

Room Tip: Not too high up as the lifts were a bit small and slow ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO PARKING Facilities At This F1 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.