We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   97 - 103 Elizabeth Street | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Expectedly not much service for the price i paid i.e needing to pay to store luggage when checking out, towels weren't enough and lack of phone meaning you need to go down yourself to get it, room wasn't tidied during stay. but overall good value and very convenient to get around. Good for people who just want a decent place to stay at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    291
    272
    81
    50
See reviews for
216
191
132
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We Stayed in quad room for 4nights at end of Jan2013.
1. The location was strategic where the access to most tram was very near (right at the corner). This hotel was located at the heart of CBD, where most restaurant and 7-e were nearby
2. We were allowed to have an early check in (11am), the receptionist was helpful and kind enough to tell us where to get the drinking water and the access to kitchen facilities
3. The room was basic, with a section for sink& standing bathroom, and another small room for lavatory. Nevertheless, with the price offered (which similar to price offered by hostel),the flat screen tv and the desk were an extra bonus to the customer.
4. The bed was comfy, had deep sleep every nights of my stay
5. Air cond and heater were working well

Overall, generally was a great and pleasant stay, will recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great place to stay, within easy walking distance to main attractions. I liked that the hotel is very close to Flinders station so it was very easy to get to the hotel with our suitcases. Room was very clean and staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

3 nights - $95 per night

Location is the standout for this property. The room is minimal, has a bed, desk, tv, airconditioner, sink, toilet and shower. Sheets, towels and a bar of soap is all that is provided. There is nothing fancy with this property, but then again it provides the basic necessities. The property did allow us to leave our luggage there for free prior to check in. Wifi is charged and you cannot check in prior to 2pm. All in all extremely good value budget accommodation, with enough necessities to make it easily liveable for the no fuss traveller. Don't expect 5 star treatment but rates highly in the budget category

Room Tip: Get a room to the right of the elevator (as you exit - towards the back fo the hotel) as there will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The service I received was very good all round. The room sufficient for the time we needed to be in the room. the position was perfect for us. We needed to catch a tram to Melbourne Park for the two days. I could recommend the hotel for people like us.

I thank you for the services whilst we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth Street | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO PARKING Facilities At This Ibis Budget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.