We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimal but clean and great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   97 - 103 Elizabeth Street | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Minimal but clean and great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The concierge and the entrance are a bit sad but if you do not mind the apparence it is quite good. It is like a hostel but cleaner, with decent people(even families and not just noisy backpackers), with ensuite and fresh towels everyday. It is in the center of the city, 5 minutes walk from everything. It is like a low cost airlines, no frills but extremely clean and located like all the big hotels in town. I paid 160$ for 2ppl for 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    310
    297
    88
    54
See reviews for
231
201
140
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel as it was centrally located and cheap - about the same as a backpackers but with a private bathroom and own TV. Room was small, shower was even smaller, but if you just want somewhere cheap to crash at night (like I did) then this suits fine.

There wasn't much noise, except on one morning a rubbish pickup at 7am woke me up. And on the Saturday Morning there were a lot of seedy looking people out early at 7am when I caught the tram to the Queen Vic market, they were heading home after a big night.

Can't fault the location, facilities were a bit drab but okay, and was value for money. I would stay again if I had the choice again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Great value - got a $79 per night room only 5 days before Xmas BUT only the 5 network channels are on TV - PLEASE GET our DIGITAL FREE CHANNELS - I want to watch 8 free digital channels eg: gem, 7mate, sbs2 (missing good tv in this hotel!!) otherwise good.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Its in the heart of the city... You can observe the city and people well in day and night Transportation near there really make sence... It is even near to Southern Cross Train Station and easy to broad SKYBUS to Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine... Hotel itself is average, but the environment there is good.. Hotel only provide body shampoo, if hair shampoo needed, please bring your own shampoo.. If you wish to walk around the city, don't forget to bring the map along, it really help... you can get it near the reception there...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed there only 1 night. But compared with the next hotel I stayed for 6 nights, Best Western Hotel Atlantis, I have to say Fomule 1 did not worth its price at all.

I booked an executive room. But I saw 1 queen-sized bed and 1 double-decker bed. in my room That means that room is for 4 persons originally.

The staff in reception was rude and helpless, who spoke strange English.
The locker charge is higher than that in State Library.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

if you get in early enough, this place should be around 69 a night, a bargain for central melbourne. by taxi from the airport, it'll cost $50 and take 20-25min...or take the airbus to southern cross station and get a taxi or tram. theres a 7/11 next door and block arcade across the road (handy if you after a fancy brunch or superior coffee). 5min walk to flinders st station, so not entirely central but good enough. the room was basic, clean, good shower and the bed comfy. the toilet 'closet' was tiny! dont bother leaving your luggage here for free before or after check in, they have $$$ lockers. didnt try the breakfast offerings but looked basic. i liked it here, only for the price. if you end up paying anything more than $100 when you book, keep looking...you might find a place where you get more bang for your buck, otherwise this place is fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The rooms are small but clean. It is definitely adequate for a good nights sleep.
The location is a great drawcard with southbank within walking distance. The Casino is also close enought to walk to .In the other direction was the shopping precinct with plenty of cafes for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#63 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#104 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#128 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
0.6 mi away
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#122 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD

Address: 97 - 103 Elizabeth Street | Near the Corner of Collins & Elizabeth, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO PARKING Facilities At This Ibis Budget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.