We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining and dancing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veludo

Veludo
175 Acland Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3182, Australia
(03) 9534 4456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #596 of 4,075 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dining and dancing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked for dinner on the Saturday of the Queens Birthday long weekend. Busy place, reasonable prices, service was good. Dinner was overcooked but the friendly staff organised a new serving. The evening was capped off by excellent live entertainment upstairs in their bar, dancing until early morning. Had a great time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service, food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

On business from New Zealand. A colleague and I just stopped by chance and ended up at Veludo. From the start the service was impeccable, efficient and friendly with a smile. The food was excellent - some of the best we have had. The portion sizes were large without compromising on excellent quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced, impressive indoor atmosphere in trendy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast here: food was good, but portion size was on the small side.

Prices were reasonable. Service was attentive. Great interior setup with a wall covered in empty wine bottles in racks. Outdoors settings are a bit hectic, but that's due to the general nature of Acland Street I suppose.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service at Veludo Restaurant St. Kilda Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I purchased a Scoopon Voucher for two for meals and bottle of wine for Veludo Restaurant, St Kilda Melbourne for our recent trip there. We booked and dined at lunchtime on this occasion. We arrived and were seated with the table all prepared and reserved for us. The menu was there specifically for us for the dining voucher choices, which was pretty most of the normal menu, and was all self explanatory even though the waiter explained everything so well. We had our meals and wine and please let me tell you, the meals were absolutely beautiful and the wine was of good quality as well. The place had a nice feel to it and got quite busy whilst we were there which is usually a good indication. However the the staff were so friendly and could not do enough for us whilst we were there and it was a great dining experience. We travel to Melbourne fairly regularly and it was great to find this place and will not hesitate to dine there in the future. Glad we found it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good voucher deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Visited the restaurant after purchasing a good deal on Scoopon which apparently they have from time to time.

Tapas share plate for starters, choice of main meal from the menu and a bottle of wine- all that for $49 for 2 people which was great value.

Staff were friendly and we weren't made to feel like second class diners when using the voucher. Starters and main meals were tasty but probably not a place to linger over a long meal.
The informal bar area as you walk in looked like it would be good to watch the interesting clientelle of Ackland Street pass by. They can accommodate larger groups towards the rear. The venue looked clean and the decor was OK without being great.

Would drop in again for a quick meal if we were in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veludo also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Veludo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veludo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.