We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not brilliant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Deck Restaurant

The Deck Restaurant
3 Southgate Avenue | Upper Level Southgate, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)
+61 3 9699 9544
Improve this listing
Ranked #536 of 4,092 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southbank
West Sussex
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not bad but not brilliant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited the centre with friends one night and got into the Deck for our evening meal. Sitting on the deck was very nice as regards the view but we were rather crammed in and I was a little concerned about the security of handbags etc placed on the floor as I suspect they were within reach of passers by outside. The choice was not as extensive as I would have hoped and we ended up with a 50/50 situation where two of us had quite nice food and the other two were clearly not that enthusiastic. If you want a tour of the "back" areas of the centre, ask for directions to the toilets. The restaurant staff direct you to the public ones outside in the mall down a maze of passages - a satnav or compass could have proved helpful getting back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“beautiful food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went for an early dinner with a 2 hour window on a Monday. Waiter was excellent & helpful, food was beautiful & delicious with 2 courses & a salad & we had 20 min to spare. Overall very good value too & menu had a good variety. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pre Theatre Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Don't choose the pre dinner menu if you are hungry !!

We had the 2 course dinner and although the food was lovely the serving size was very small and we left still hungry!

Will try somewhere else next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Slow breakfast, but enjoyable food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Really slow service, but the mushroom toast was good. I don't recommend the chai latte - the flavors were really weak, despite getting full-fat cream in mine. Small outdoor seating area is nice

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Slowish service but good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

After overlooking this small restaurant in Southbank from our nearby hotel room, we gave it a shot early one Friday night without a reservation. After being asked initially to wait at the bar, while the two waiters got their act together, we noticed that at least two other groups were taken directly to their tables. They had both announced they were going to shows, so received priority. Eventually, we were seated, ordered entree, mains, glass of wine and a desert. Very good quality food, but the entree arrived after our mains, with an apology and no charge. On leaving, we had our credit card swapped with another customer's card, and somehow the confused waiter seemed to think we were to blame!

So, excellent food, but slow and less than competent service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Deck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deck Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.