We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, atmosphere, service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taxi Kitchen

Taxi Kitchen
Level 1, Federation Square, Flinders Street | Transport Hotel, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9654 8808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 4,008 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great views, atmosphere, service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic Asian fusion food and best location, particularly for a visitor in Melbourne. The sushi and sashimi platter is fantastic with an enormous array of different fish. Fabulous wine list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    135
    86
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Open for business.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Taxi Dining on a few occassions, mainly for business, dinner last Thursday being the most recent visit. Its a great location and I have found Taxi provides a consistent experience, the food is quality with a safe but sure menu best described as modern australian with an asain influence, add a great wine list and a pleasnt relaxed ambience and it's an enjoyable dining experience. Expect to pay mid range prices for this type of venue and keep an eye on the service, its generally pretty good but can be inconsistent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't go for the wine matching...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Service was absolutely fantastic. Went for our anniversary dinner so decided to go for the 7 course degestation ($130) with matching wines (extra $90pp). All of the savory dishes were delicious, however the meal was let down by the dessert and the fact that only one of the six wines matched well with the dish it was served with (the barramundi course), every other one was just a little off. $90 for 6 half glasses of wine wasn't worth it. That said I would go back again for the service and the food, just choose my own wine and skip dessert next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food and wine, service just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

When we first arrived the staff at Taxi couldn't do enough for us, it was a lovely welcome to the restaurant. However, and this is really the only complaint of the night, the service somewhat wained once the meals were ordered. This was a celebration for our friends and the group was prepared for a big night, we felt that Taxi missed their chance to upswell us on drinks as after the first round of bottles were ordered we weren't asked again if we wanted more. Coupled with the fact that they kept the bottles to the side and topped up for us, it meant we drank a lot less than we otherwise would have. Good for my liver and wallet but not as good for their bottom line!
As I said though, that was the only complaint as it was a great night out. The food was flawless, entrees we had included the sticky pork and scallops ( apparently those that had that dish would have been quite happy to have that as a main too!) the tuna tartare and the sushi platter. All were highly praised. The mains included the wagyu steak, blue eyed cod and the szchezuan ( sp?) duck. Again, all delicious if a little salty.
We were too full for dessert but coffees all round and one dessert wine finished off a lovely meal.
The sommelier was very helpful choosing a wine to start and also provided advice on the sake. He was also very entertaining, which is a bonus. If he'd stuck around longer he'd easily have got another bottle or two out of us.
Overall this was a great night out, good food, great view and nice atmosphere but the staff could do with some training on follow up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Melbourne gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had the good fortune to be taken to Taxi for lunch on the 14th August. It was my first time there and an absolute delight. Located in Federation Square Taxi has a futuristic look to it and the food is first class. The "Tapas" style entrees are excellent and the Duck main course was superb. I shall certainly return to Taxi when next in Melbourne.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taxi Kitchen also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Taxi Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taxi Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.