We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taxi Kitchen

Taxi Kitchen
Level 1, Federation Square, Flinders Street | Transport Hotel, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9654 8808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 4,231 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Always an experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wait staff always treat you like you're special. I have been several times now and each time, no matter who serves us, we are treated with kindness and warmth - that says a lot about a restaurant of this calibre.
The servings are small, but not stupidly small, and the 8 course degustation is amazing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    121
    34
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently had lunch with a dear friend at this resturant WOW ! the view over the yarra & the art centre is amazing but the food and service is even better. I highly recommend the taxi restaurant for visitors to Melbourne and to all in Melbourne !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
879 reviews 879 reviews
514 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
“Classy taxi ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Heard this restaurant opened with a bang 6 years ago, won 2 hats , long queues to get in etc. but right now appears to have past its prime. Arrived early and sat at the bar for drinks first. Service was good but drink portions small. At the dinner table, my friends had starters of sushi, Gyoza and they seemed ok with that. For mains, my crispy pork was rather well done, small portion. My friends had the fried white fish which they seemed ok with it. Perhaps feeling the portions were a little on the small side, we had desserts. My friends' berries dessert tasted weird and not quite right, according to them, perhaps due to the goat cheese. My bitter chocolate also had a funny combo with the beet root reduction. The new zealand pinot noir they recommended was ok. All in all, it's good, but they may need to up the portions a little for the price and they seem a little over zealous with the fusion thing

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Classy unpretentious food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited this well-established restaurant again last weekend. The food was excellent, without the pretentious 'flair' so favoured by a number of the trendy venues. And the service was also wonderful. Our waitress (Rachel) was not only professional and efficient, she was also genuinely warm.
A wonderful night out at a very reliable first class restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“This restaurant is one of Melbourne’s gastronomic credentials at its best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

VENUE & LOCATION
This has to be one of the best venues in Melbourne located at the heart of Federation Square overlooking the Yarra River, Southgate Precinct & Flinders Street train station.

Most diners might be turned off when they see the ground floor public bar, but you have to go to the next level up to find the dining room. There’s also a cocktail lounge at the top floor where you can continue to soak up the atmosphere after dinner.

Unlike fine dining normally found in stuff old hotels served by rude waiters who think they’re French & can afford to be rude, this place is modern & comfortable frequented by locals & tourist who are young & old.

Smokers can simply leave their table to walk downstairs towards the outdoor bar area where cigars & smokes are allowed.

PRICE
Cost is above average such as $35 for salmon dish & $25 for appetisers of Gyoza filled with wonderful locally-source Gyoza. We also had an $80 1.2Kgs

Our bill of $350 covered four people including several alcoholic drinks, but that could easily go up if we opted for one of their $50-$100 bottles of wine.

STAFF
The service is provided by a mixed crew of professional staff who work like a fined tuned machine; drinks always topped up & your napkin folded whenever you leave your table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taxi Kitchen also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Taxi Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taxi Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.