We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable local” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi House Ben-K

Sushi House Ben-K
334 Burwood Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3122, Australia
(03) 9819 3217
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,354 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Reliable local”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have come here for some years for fresh and tasty Japanese food. It maintains high standards within a fairly limited range of predictable items but is ideal for a family meal or for take-away Japanese. I recommend it but not without saying that there are better, but often more expensive, Japanese restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A reliable little local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Always busy - a testament to the food (and its prices). The service is fast, as is the food delivery, and you are not expected to linger long. However, the sushi is fresh and the meals are very acceptable. Excellent quick meal with family or friends - bookings only possible for groups over 6, I think.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The freshest, loveliest Japanese ever - and cheap!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

this was our favourite restaurant in melbourne when we lived there. the sushi hand rolls were our all time favourite, made fresh to order ever time. cheaper also than any other japanese i'd found. small, cosy restaurant with friendly staff and always well air conditioned. they tolerated little kids well at all times. now that we've moved, we really miss this place and have never found anything that comes close to matching. well done.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Fresh, cheap, quick, good service. I've eaten a lot of Japanese food and these guys so it very simply and very well. Couldn't recommend more highly. Also, it's worth booking at lunch times, I often find it hard to get a table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“cheap but poor Japanese...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

cheap but poor Japanese food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi House Ben-K also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Sushi House Ben-K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi House Ben-K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.