We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fancy place but food was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Supper Inn

Supper Inn
Level 1, 15-17 Celestial Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 9663 4759
Improve this listing
Ranked #620 of 3,967 restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Morwell, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a fancy place but food was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

very relaxed, not fancy but clean and food was great with lots of choice. Service was good and price good, very friendly restaurant

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    39
    62
    27
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unexpected Suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had no idea of this restaurants reputation when we first venture up that stair case. Now it is had to go past it! Love the variety on the menu and we always look forward to going back. No frills, just great food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not judge this book by its cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Food was very fresh and tasty - low key - lots to choose from- definitely recommend you try this place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Downward”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Been going for years. Was always very authentic, cheap and fast service. Cost $40 for a glass of wine, fried rice, prawn fritters and spring rolls. Food quality very average on this visit. Frozen cheap prawns in rice and only a few pieces of pork and very greasy. Def better quality around for those prices these days. Supper Inn need to get back to basics. Good quality food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The demise of an old Melbourne icon ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We used to go here at least once a month in my youth, looking for congee after a late night out. We'd always had to queue but the food was always good. It has been 10 years since I last visited and I was initially heartened by the small queue that was there at 1am.
Unfortunately, my expectations were severely unmet when the congee came out. We'd ordered a few different ones (roast duck, fish, meatball, and seafood combo). It was obvious that all the congees had the same base stock and all they did was substituted the protein. This wouldn't have been so bad if the base stock was awesome but it wasn't. In fact, it was bland and mediocre in terms of consistency and flavour. Add to that the poor service (rushed, flustered, and inattentive) and it becomes very obvious that this place is living on past glory alone.
Don't waste your time here... There are much better places in Chinatown that are open late nowadays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Supper Inn also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Supper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Supper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.