We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late booking, great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sud Food and Wine Bar

Sud Food and Wine Bar
219 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 3 9670 8451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 4,075 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $12 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: SUD is an intimate 45 seat Italian restaurant situated at 219 King street MelbourneThis small upmarket restaurant on King st (between Lonsdale and Little Bourke) not only boasts fantastic seasonal produce, allowing the menu to constantly evolve daily but also an extensively dynamic wine list to compliment any meal, hailing from various regions of Italy as well as carefully sourced local producers.SUD frequently caters to a corporate clientele as the quiet, warmly lit ambience promotes a comfortable familiar atmosphere.Available Monday to Friday - ideal for business meetings or private functions, SUD would be happy to cater for any occasion. The wine list has an emphasis on food friendly wines from some interesting, boutique producers around the country and a solid collection of Italian wines and varietals for something a little different. The staff are also happy to suggest some of their favorites among the list to suit the particular dishes ordered.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Late booking, great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Booked dinner that afternoon and was not disappointed. The main waiter was excellent and they made my girlfriend and i really enjoy our night. They had an excellent range of wines and the food was great, even if you couldn't understand what the menu said exactly, all was explained beautifully by the waiter with incredible charm. Definitely recommend, despite the hefty bill at the end of it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ciao bella and bello!

Apologies for the delay in responding to your kind review.
Very pleased to read that you both enjoyed the food and wine here @ SUD.

Ciao for now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always a beautiful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are so lucky to have Sud as a local restaurant within walking distance! It's a small, cosy restaurant and the staff are lovely. Beautiful Italian food, delicious wine. Perfect for a romantic meal.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ciao bella!

Apologies for the delay in responding to your very nice review.
Very pleased to read that you and your husband enjoyed your evening here at SUD.

Look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I had dinner there . The service was very good . Our waiter was wonderful we left our meal in his hands and weren't disappointed . We had an array of different types of food which were delicious but the highlight was desert oh my god it was delicious we shared Tiramisu and panacotta with berry sorbet absolutely delicious . We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Ciao bella!
Apologies for the delay in responding to your review.

All of us here at SUD are very pleased to read that you and your husband enjoyed your wonderful dinner experience.
Our apprentice come pastry chef, Rachael, in particular, was mightly pleased that you both enjoyed the tiramisu and the pannacotta.

Look forward to seeing you again when you are next in downtown Melbourne!

Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant execution, excellent service in great surrounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Went on a whim, was welcomed and well looked after. Knowledgeable and professional waiters guided me through a dazzling array of specials. The scallops were quite outstanding - cooked to perfection, and served with and interesting roe, my beef main was also of a high standard and the dolce course was originally conceived and perfectly executed. This is a great restaurant. Make a point of visiting you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Ciao!
Thank you for your very kind words.
Perhaps see you again when you are next in Melbourne.
Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aust
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best lunch in melb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Have been several times before the last being for lunch with my wife for our wedding anniversary. We tried the degustation menu. Fabulous. Just told the owner (Vincenzo) what we liked and he took care of the rest. All dishes were at least very good with the majority outstanding. Rare to find a restaurant owned and run by the same person in the city. Atmosphere is great but the food is what you come here for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincenzo T, Owner at Sud Food and Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Ciao!

Thank you for your very kind words.
Very happy to read you thorough;y enjoyed your SUD experience!
We look forward to seeing you again, at some future point in time.

Again, thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sud Food and Wine Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Sud Food and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sud Food and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.