We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to deliver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stokehouse - Cafe Bistro

Stokehouse - Cafe Bistro
30 Jacka Blvd | St. Kilda, Melbourne, Victoria 3182, Australia
+61 3 9525 5555
Improve this listing
Ranked #795 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Continues to deliver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We as a family of 5 (11, 9 and 6) went there twice between Christmas and New Year on our annual visit to Melbourne. Having young children, we tend to eat earlier. On the second of the occassions we did have to wait about half an hour.

The Stokehouse downstairs is a lively place, which makes it good for young children as we dont have to worry if they make noise.

The menu has changed a bit but thankfully the fish and chips remain on the menu. These are absolutely fantastic and was the reason we went back the second time.

As long as you are prepared to wait a bit, the Stokehouse continues to deliver.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    90
    40
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A busey place on the ground floor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Super for a function upstairs with the veiw of the beach /sea from the balconey. We all enjoyed the food at my neices wedding and service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Suggest you ask to see the menu before you start your wait (not much on it that we fancied and waited nearly an hour for a table - menu came with the table!). It's a great location but the food is only average and not cheap. Also be prepared for the racket. Maybe it was the large table of young Aussie girls that drowned all else out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Totally fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Lunch here today- sitting outside on the beachfront with the breeze cooling us beautifully

The new renovations are fabulous and everything we ate was divine - bread with olive dip.
Fish and chips. Meatballs and salad. Pizetta with whipped ricotta. Pavlova with banana and passionfruit. Iced coffee and cappuccino.
service and staff were both faultless
We will be spending a lot of time at The Stokehouse this summer

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great summer people gawking if you can snare a table near the front downstairs. Good basic food, forget upstairs unless you plan to mortgage (again) the house.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stokehouse - Cafe Bistro also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Stokehouse - Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stokehouse - Cafe Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.